Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beyond dreams, expectations and all things magical

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Hotel Grimsborgir might be one of the most ideal hotels I've ever stayed in. Set in the middle of the mountains it was a bit difficult to get to due to extreme weather conditions but it was beyond worth it. Every detail was done with finesse from the lobster soup to the perfectly heated outdoor jacuzzi. I can imagine that it would be the prime place to see the Northern Lights but unfortunately the sky was too cloudy on our one night stay. The breakfast buffet has unprecedented amounts of Icelandic delicacies. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Wonderful night in the Golden Circle at a superb hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, UK

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff, Wonderful Food!

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel is immaculate, as are the rooms. The food was lovely. We ate breakfast every day and never tired of the choice. The staff were faultless.
Cons: Nothing. We only marked room comfort down by 1 star as we don't like feather pillows. But we didn't ask if they had any different pillows.
Location: The hotel is on the Golden Circle, about 15 minutes from Selfoss, with wonderful views all around. It was about 45 minutes from Reykjavik.
We went to Iceland at the end of October and stayed for 7 nights as we wanted to do the usual tourist things but wanted time to relax too. The hotel was near Selfoss so we were on the Golden Circle, which was perfect for our group of 4 as we are not really city people. Having said that Reykjavik is not like most cities - and it was lovely to walk around when we did visit. We went to all the usual tourist spots but they were never crowded and most everywhere was free - including parking! The views from the hotel were wonderful and you feel as if you are in the middle of nowhere. We had breakfast every day and evening meals four times. The food was excellent every time - especially the Wild Game Buffet. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much for them. We used the hot tubs one cold evening and it was lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Amanda

Amazing!

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Easily the best place I stayed while in all of Iceland! What a wonderful and delightful find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thomas from Oxford

Highly recommend this hotel.

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful setting with a out door hot tub with a great view of the landscape. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful View in the Iceland countryside

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean, warm, cosy and decorated beautifully. Staff were lovely and friendly.
Cons: Dressing gowns in the room.
Location: You will need a car to get to this hotel. The town Selfoss is not too far away and you can stop there for groceries, lunch or dinner.
We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is decorated lovely, is very clean and comfortable. Its in a great location for the Golden Circle. Breakfast and Dinner were wonderful, service was excellent, food was beautiful. Only areas for improvement would be: provide dressing gowns in the room for the hot tub, outside where the hotel tubs are have a hook for clothes/towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top class hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2015
One of the cleanest and well kept rooms I have stayed in with some amazing views Staff at every friendly Only downside is it seems to be the off season with very little staff had to wait a long time to be served at bar etc also food I feel is very overpriced for what it is but overall very good and highly pleased would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One of kind experience

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean and well managed property with a very attentive friendly staff. The buffet style dinner and breakfast were over the top with freshly prepared and delicious! It was almost impossible to try everything! The quiet environment out in the country was relaxing and the proximity to Pingvellir very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Anchorage

Convenient hotel for Golden Ring sights

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed three nights during our stay in Iceland. We had no trouble finding the hotel using the GPS coordinates provided, even though we arrived after midnight and it was already dark. It is about a one hour, 20 minute drive from the international airport in Keflavik, but very convenient for driving to sights on the Golden Ring, Thingvellir National Park,and Laugarvatn. The nearest town is Selfoss, about a 20-minute drive away. You probably would not consider staying here without a rental car, as it really is in the middle of nowhere! The breakfast and dinner buffets were amazing, including raw whale and horse meat, among other Icelandic delicacies. Our room was small, but comfortable and adequate. The rooms are spread out over a wide area in several one-story buildings. The staff was generally helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels