Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location to visit the golden circle

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Good rooms and good location. Hot tubs outside which are always warm. Good breakfast where there is free sparkling wine.
Cons: Odd voice of decoration, especially in the restaurant... similar to what you might expect from Butlins (slight exaggerated, but nonetheless a flavour). Room was really hot, windows open, still really warm - better than cold though.
Location: Good location - right in the middle of the main tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel in Golden Circle

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Glamorous hotel in golden circle, beautifully decorated, clean and mordern accommodations. Onsite restaurant was great. Outdoor Hot tubs on site for soaking under the northern lights. Highly recommend this hotel. Staff was personable and accomidating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Time Warp

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: The apartment was great, apart from the ridiculous American flag stuck outside it!
Cons: The decor and ambience in the main hotel building.
Location: Stunning location, within easy reach of The Golden Circle, hot springs for bathing at The Secret Lagoon and many other attractions.
Whilst the apartment we stayed in was beautiful the main hotel dining area was stuck in a 70's time warp. The decor needs updating to the same standard as the apartments and the entertainment was painful at times. The hotel needs to lose all the completely pointless flags too - both outside as they detract from the beautiful setting, and also from the dining tables. It is a hotel which could and should be so much better for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Helpful staff. Good breakfast. My review is not accepted.It says "Oops! Please add a bit more to your review." That shouldn't happen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel in middle of nowhere

Posted Jul 23, 2016
We picked this hotel as it was advertised as being a Selfoss Hotel, in reality it is about 8 miles away. We would've switched to another hotel closer to things but the non-refund policy prevented that option. The place was nice, the breakfast was good, the check-in process was odd (for an Anerican) in that we were asked to sit a waiting area for 20-30 mins while they checked on the status of our room. Would've preferred to go exploring than sitting. Hotel was expensive @ $350 per night on Expedia, was expecting more for that kind of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lovely hotel in natural setting

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Extremely clean and well maintained property. Staff very attentive and pleasant.
Cons: Natural, grainy bread options absent. A little more local character. Decor a bit sterile. Cracked side window in bedroom had no shade.
Location: Nice walking trails and beautiful scenery. Great off-site restaurant only 15 min drive away.
Quiet, peaceful vacation spot. Wonderful, clean hot tub that was filled each evening. Buffet breakfast was varied with good protein options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted May 31, 2016
Very nice hotel with excellent staff. Breakfast was included and even though we are vegetarian, we found a lot of selection for food that we could eat. Will highly recommend this hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Convenient, new, real queen beds.

Posted May 27, 2016
Owner operated hotel with great rooms and geothermal hot tubs. Better than the Ion Hotel nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, MA

Beautiful hotel near the Golden Circle.

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: food, rooms, staff, view
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great for Golden Circle activities
What a gorgeous place to stay! We travelled with four adults and two kids, so we needed a larger space. The rooms/houses are absolutely beautiful and roomy. The location is remote, but great if you want to get a start on the Golden Circle the next day. Loved the evening hot tubs--can't say enough about this hotel. Book it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Great hotel for groups with rental cars

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Hot tubs; breakfast.
Cons: Internet service; not that anyone should be using the internet while on vacation!
Location: Convenient location for visiting the Golden Circle, Geyser, and Selfoss.
Friendly staff in a convenient location for travelers with their own vehicle. Breakfast is great and included in all room rates with fresh Salmon, fresh juice shots, and sparkling wine on the menu. The room was clean and a tad smaller than expected (by American standards) but sufficient for a traveling couple. Larger apartments are available for up to 8 persons with a private hot tub. The room had a very slow internet connection (granted no one should be concerned with this while vacationing). Numerous hot tubs were available on the side of each apartment building. The concierge was very helpful in assisting us plan our self-guided Golden Circle day trip, and recommended a fantastic lunch spot on the way (Farmhotel Efstidalur).