Ratings based on 1,164 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco ca

Easy coming, easy going

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Easy to find, easy access, closed to the Main Street in South Lake Tahoe , few blocks from the beach, marina and boat launch, yetski rental and more. Easy parking next to your room Maybe the continental breakfast was not the greatest but they have coffe and bread. Clean, no smoking rooms,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockton CA

Area to dark

Posted Sep 18, 2017
First time staying room was second floor bed very uncomfortable hard like .had to go buy thick blankets cause on the bed was sheets very thin we we're still cold after our first night If you plan on walking too it's dark but not too far but for me with a child I would walk anywhere And if your used to elevator this is not the place for you ..stairs not bad but hard to carry everything and making multiple trios to the car
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lodi, ca

Not at all what Expedia says.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Check in time: 30 minutes. When I got there, I was only second in line. It took 30 minutes for the staff to check in a person ahead of us because they wanted to pay with cash. Instead of pulling them aside while they figured it out, they left every one else waiting. Parking: one car per resident. I went there for a bachelor party and this was not ideal. We paid and booked for the people we listed were staying there. There should have been a warning. Not enough parking even if you have one car. Not a studio at all! No couch!!! I booked a 2 bedroom 1 couch studio. What I got was a crappy motel room with 2 beds and no couch. I had to sleep on the floor both nights because there was no couch that I was promised. Breakfast is subpar I expect bad continental breakfasts but this was bad. Especially for paying almost $110 a night. AC and phone don't work 100% The AC only turns off if you plug/unplug it. All the options and taped. I was trying to call the office and our phone was there just was decoration. Did not work. No clock either. Wifi does not work well for the price being asked to stay. Location was the only good thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future, these are not recurring issues. We can only apologize that you didn't get the room type that you expected. Not all our rooms have this facility and we are sorry that we failed to provide you with your expectation. We do have a fairly limited area for parking, and we try to accommodate as many of our guests as possible, but we are very sorry that we were not able to provide you with the parking that you required. If you had of made us aware of the issues that you were encountering during your stay, we would have done everything possible to ensure, these matters were resolved. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, I do hope that you will be our guest again. Thank you for your review. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

We loved it

Posted Sep 14, 2017
We were welcomed by Sarah . She's very good customer service. My whole family especially the kids enjoyed walking at the beach and strolling around and dine out. The adults also enjoyed close by casinos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review and letting everyone know about your pleasant stay. We are thrilled to know that our associates were able to make such a positive impact on your stay and that our location and overall accommodations were to your liking. We will make sure to pass on your feedback to Sarah, she will be delighted that she was able to add to your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockton,ca

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Poor customer service. When we booked on Expedia it was booked as studio, but this is incorrect information there is no studio just two double beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was clean and close to the Harvey venue

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Clean hotel, staff is very nice. We were there for a concert and hotel is only about 5 minute walk from the venue. Beds are not extremely comfortable and The bathtub fixtures were detached from the wall, but overall the hotel was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our property. Although delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, we are disappointed that you didn't love your stay with us. We have passed your feedback on to our maintenance team to ensure the issues you raised with the bathroom, are addressed immediately. We do have a great location with great staff, and we hope that we can be your hosts again, when you are next visiting the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, price for holiday weekend.
Cons: Cleanliness and rooms could be updated.
Location: Lake and casinos
Staff location was great. Dirty rooms and very dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. Although we are happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff and great location, we are disappointed that you didn't love your stay with us. Our hotel is an older hotel, as are most of the properties in our area and as a result, our staff have to work really hard to constantly improve our facilities. We do, however, really appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to make the necessary improvements to the areas that you have remarked on. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, when you are next in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, walking distance to everything

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Good location and super friendly staff. Booked a one night stay to attend an Eric Church concert at Harvey's outdoor arena. It was only a 5 minute walk to Harvey's and about a 10 minute walk to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and everything was to your liking. We hope to be your property of choice, when you are next visiting the area. Thank you again for sharing. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel Close to Heavenly Resort

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly, room had a nice balcony and fridge/microwave
Cons: Check in process was a little disorganized
Location: easy walk to heavenly ski resort where there is plenty to be entertained by
Staff was very friendly, enjoyed the resort being within walking distance
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that enjoyed our friendly staff and excellent location. We will be passing your comments on to our front of desk staff, in an effort to always be improving our service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future, Best wishes, Hotel Management.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: location good, bathroom good, bed good
Cons: needs to be cleaned entirely.
Location: nice walk to beach and casino, and restaurants
hot tub, heat not on, pool water to cold to use, parking good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted by the issues you faced in the hot tub and pool. I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future, these are not recurring issues. Our housekeeping team work tirelessly to ensure that our guests have a clean and comfortable stay, but it looks like this wasn't your experience. We will be passing your comments on to the team and improvements will be made as a result. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, I do hope that you will be our guest again. Thank you for your review. Best wishes, Hotel Management.