Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The Sheets were dirty and there wasn't any conditioner. They did however change the sheets upon request. The staff was very friendly and the location was prime!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Stay

Posted Aug 19, 2017
It was an overall bad experience. Breakfast says it starts at 7:00am but no one is ever there at that time. We had to ask them to change our sheets. Our room smelled like cigarettes, even though this is a smoke free hotel. Rooms do not have AC, only a wall heater.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Avolon

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: The rooms are dated and dark.
The check in was quick and close to main part of town.
5 out of 5
by Casey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nampa, idaho

Used condom in the bed to start

Posted May 1, 2017
Checked in, April 29, 2017 based on the Expedia 4.0 rating. Arrival was late and my 5 year old granddaughter was very tired after our 7 hour drive so really didn't have any other alternative but to stay at this HORRIBLE lodge! My granddaughter fell over the uneven threshold upon arrival; the ground was very uneven as we walked to the room, the place was totally delapatated on the outside and the pool was emerald green! The stair steps are built for a person with a size 4 foot, etc. Upon entry, the smell almost knocked us over (turns out the toliet wasn't flushed)! The beds didn't look like they had been changed and when I turned them down I found a used condom in one bed. My granddaughter opened the mini fridge and there was old food in there and the room was filthy! I called and complained and we were put in the room next door. This room didn't look any cleaner, there was no remote control for the tv and we didn't use the shower because "a new life source" was growing there plus the shower curtain was gross! We spent the night laying on top of a bedspread that we brought from home! I told the front desk person about all this and she said I would have to contact Expedia for a refund. The Expedia agent although very nice could not refund our money because we actually "slept" there! This whole experience was a nightmare!!!! What if I hadn't found the condom myself and my granddaughter had actually touched it? How would any of you feel if this happened to you?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

value for money

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
bathroom was old and drainage was not great. Breakfast was not really continental, it is just basic bread and butter
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sparks

thoroughly enjoyed my stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017
It was a GREAT experience!! Very comfortable rooms and you can't beat the location. Super nice staff. My first time to South Lake and my last hotel I'll try - I'll always stay at Avalon
5 out of 5
by Jamie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SF

Pretty good location, and Friendly staff

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Gondola and lake shore
This hotel is smaller than what I thought. It is located in a lot of small hotels/motels, with walking distance to the Gandola and lake shore. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast is OK. Room is fine, but the bath room is kind of small, you may hear some noise from upstairs. Heating system work good.
4 out of 5
by jowdy

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
This was a nice sized comfortable room with a good location close to Stateline. Hot tub was a good temp. -enjoyed our stay.