Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Love the fire pits and rustic style. The room is very clean and the bathroom has windows for fresh air.
Cons: The room I stayed in was close to the laundry room and I can hear the washing and drying most of the night.
Location: It's conveniently located near the lake and shopping areas.
Basecamp is a cozy and clean hotel with friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the fire pits along with the Beer Garden. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon! - “so glad you chose to stay at Basecamp based on our close proximity to the lake and shopping”
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: The decor and how friendly it felt.
Location: Right near downtown South Lake Tahoe, but it felt like you were "getting away from it all".
Loved it! Although we are probably not the type of people (outdoorsy hikers & skiers) that the hotel is geared for-I loved the decor and the atmosphere. Very group friendly, and cozy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the outdoorsy feel of the property. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon! - “so glad you chose to stay at Basecamp based on our hotel being geared toward the outdoor adventurist”
5 out of 5
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

lovely hotel with relaxed vibe and friendly staf!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great hotel. Rooms were very spacious, clean and modern with a relaxed feel! The bar was fab great selection of beers and live music, staff were so friendly and would bend over backwards to accommodate you and make you feel at home!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF East Bay, California

Good location, terrible hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
I asked for a king bed and got a queen. My rm was hotter than hell and the ceiling fan worked but it was super loud and couldn't sleep. Either it was have some air and not sleep, or cook to death and not sleep. Nowhere in the description did it say this hotel didn't have ac. The walls were dirty, outlet sockets weren't working. At least it was within walking distance to heavenly and to the casinos. That was the only good thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was affected by the heat wave last week. We are looking at solutions to remedy the AC issue in the future. I have passed your other concerns onto our housekeeping team to see where the problem lies. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place is simply awesome

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Loved everything about hotel, staff was great everything super close great location will def stay again soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our location to everything. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!
3 out of 5
by Dexter

Nice Location good Amenities but not for my family

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was easy, i asked that they charge another credit card upon checkout the nice Lady acknowledged....checked in on a Thursday, check out was Sat. morning but my card was charged the full stay on Friday afternoon plus 50dollars which i was told was going to be returned in couple days.....i have two kids & the amenities didn't really work for my family other than the location of the property was close to the main shops & restaurants.... may just try somewhere else next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We always appreciate feedback from guests, and we hope to see you again in the near future!
5 out of 5
by Shahriar

Boutique beauty at Lake Tahoe

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the boutique feel of this hotel. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Property is clean except common area stairwells and halls need updating/cleaning up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our location close to the lake. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon! - “so glad you chose to stay with us at Basecamp during your recent visit to Tahoe”
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel , cute remodel. Very expensive for having no AC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our cool hotel. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!
4 out of 5
by CARLA

Cool hotel at South Lake Tahoe

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Cool place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. Great environment!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our cool environment. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!