Ratings based on 2,051 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty laminate floors.

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The location was good. Very close to a wide selection of restaurants.
Cons: Clean and even upgrade the rooms more.
The condition of the room was just ok. The laminate flooring was dirty and had a gritty feeling when walking on it barefoot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baldwin Park Ca

Nice hotel close to lake,Heavenly ski resort

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Hotel room was clean, beds were comfortable we had an issue with our shower going from hot to cold but other than that it served its purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, had an amazing time.

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Grate place to stay with family, very good location, in very good conditions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

Location is good but hotel is not!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
This place needs some major upgrade. Bathroom door won’t lock. Floor squeaks. Breakfast is terrible. Plus, you have noisy college students next doors. Won’t use this hotel anymore.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Loud

Posted Nov 30, 2017
I read a review of the paper thin walls and should have avoided- I was in room 126 and room 127 got home late at midnight and you could hear them come in, every footstep- woke me up from my sleep. They were having loud sex until about 1am the girl was screaming and I felt as if I was in the room with them. Their puppy kept yelping in the middle of the night constantly waking me up. I got a very terrible night sleep here and feel frustrated I didn’t just stay at the casinos.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

$100 for 7 hours of sleep at 5am.

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Didn't like a thing.
Cons: Demolish the crappy hotel!!
Location: Wouldn't know, didn't get to stay!!
I got there 5am, had reservation for x day, but x day didn't begin till 11pm. So they want to charge me for the day before and the x day...... So my reserved room turned from a $45 room to a $100 room... I stayed up for 38 hours instead and drove home... WORTHLESS!!! I'm so sorry my vacation didn't fit into YOUR schedule!!!! And a cocky little manager at 5am to boot!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Fracisco

Is not what we were expecting

Posted Nov 22, 2017
I pay for a room with kitchen and view to the beach , but when we get there my room was not With kitchen so I have to upgrade for one with So I pay more, also bathroom was dirty , No view to beach only some pines trees , Something wrong with the beds little insects Bite us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San francisco, CA

RECOMMEND 100%

Posted Nov 21, 2017
I would be back at the same hotel for sure. I felt at home. I love the wooden floors, nice comfy bed, and it was just so clean. Also, the stores and restaurants were walking discount. The best part is that they allow dogs. My boyfriend and I were so happy. Definetly recommend to anyone that wants to stay at nice comfy hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Very nice!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
It was a really nice experience staying at big pines. No complaints on my part. Very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truckee, CA

Almost....a Really decent room

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: It's lake tahoe----figure it out!
Good: great bed, nice plain bedspread. big fridge, microwave, 12-cup coffee maker (instead of the idiotic 1-cuppers!) Nice carpet (dark green) Adequate lighting, including a floor lamp. Very quiet heater (did not try the A/C) The hotel is a block off the main road, so there was very little traffic noise. Bad: the bathroom is hideously out-dated, with nasty, cigarette-burned linoleum, ugly yellow shower tile, banged-up vanity, toilet seat was so worn-out the paint was gone. The electrical outlets are ancient (except for the GFCI outlets in the bathroom and adjacent to the coffee and fridge/microwave). The Tv was plugged into an outlet with an adapter that had the ground prong broken off, which I'm sure is a fire code violation. The front door had a huge gap underneath, allowing the wind to howl through. The front desk person who checked me out did not inquire about my stay, nor did she thank me. All told, this could be a really nice place, and most of the negatives could be fixed. But they weren't.