Ratings based on 1,006 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

More concerned with future bookings than present

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Lake Tahoe is beautiful.
Cons: If you're going to harass me about buying things lower your prices and hire a friendlier staff
Location: It's Lake Tahoe, the lake and the mountains are within walking distance.
The most memorable thing about this stay was that they asked us to buy a future stay at one of their resorts at every opportunity. Checking in? Oh, go to our "concierge" desk twice so we can try to sell you a great vacation. Checking out? Oh, we need you to come to the "concierge" desk to do that, and also would you be interesting in a great deal on a future stay? It's only available right now, so you don't' want to miss out. The staff that wasn't trying to sell us things were mostly surly at best, the room was fine, but nothing special. There was a room full of sad, trapped looking people off the lobby, I assume that was the fate if you choose to take them up on their sales offers. I would expect this kind of high pressure sales if I had gotten a great deal on the room, but this was at or above average cost for the area and it overall ruined the stay. But if you'd like to get a great offer on "a future stay at one of our great resort locations all over the country" even before you've set foot in your room for the first time, this is the place for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Very unhelpful staff pool was closed without notice high-pressure sales on the timeshare option no housekeeping for 4 days
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort understands how amenity closures could affect our guests vacation, and we do mention any closures and our housekeeping policy on our website and affiliate sites to avoid any surprises. We sincerely hope these events do not deter you from experiencing many memorable vacations with us very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice property

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Clean, comfortable, quiet, good parking, easy access, and close to the lake. Good price. Great value. Very nice property. We will probably stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Lake Tahoe, CA

Horrible Construction

Posted Oct 6, 2017
The Hotel had very limited parking. Guests were afraid to leave the Hotel because they didn't want to lose their spot. The swimming pool was closed for construction and we had to drive 4 miles for an alternate community pool. The lobby was undergoing construction. And the timeshare representatives were very agressive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
In an effort to avoid any surprises during your vacation, we mention any closures and construction around the resort on our website and affiliate sites. We apologize for any excessive exuberance from the sales team who attempt to inspire you with Vacation Ownership. Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort understands how these events could have altered your view on your vacation; however, we hope you enjoyed a pleasant visit overall. We welcome you back and wish you safe travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L A

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Well located property and excellent excellent staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Problems as described below.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Magnificent Tahoe Lake, great hiking, lots of families and surprisingly lots of bicycles. Drivers very respectful.
Parking is non existent. The resort does not have enough spaces to accommodate cars when fully occupied. At night you find multiple cars circling around trying to find a place to park. Hopeless. The resort offers additional parking places 2 blocks from the premises. It offers free valet parking but you obviously have to offer a tip. You can park usually between 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM at the premises, then spend the rest of the day and night in your room until the following day. We were told that on a one week stay there will be room service once midweek. We stayed Sunday to Sunday. On Thursday evening we told the desk that there was no room service, the room was finally cleaned Friday morning( 2 days before departure). On the last day we received a call to have our final charges but to stop at the concierge and not at the reception area? At the concierge area we were offered stays at different Diamond Resorts. We told them to give us time to read and decide, we were todo to decide immediately , on the spot. Otherwise no "reduced prices". We did not have a good explanation as to why resort fees. After vacationing through the US, Mexico, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Argentina, Western and Central Europe, Finland, Sweden, Denmark,Croatia, Turkey, Egypt, Israel and Jordan for many years I recommend never to stay at a resort. As far as this particular resort definitely not recommended. Luis Wainstein, MD Seattle, WA
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

consistent AC slamming noise ; can't sleep

Posted Sep 21, 2017
There is consistent AC slamming noise that makes u think someone is braking in can't sleep well bcs if that Also, there is one door to 2 rooms: very unsafe feeling
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
For a place trying to sell you on becoming an owner with them, they need to look at the way the maintain their properties. Can do a lot better. Our room had ditty table and a replacement dishwasher that didn't even come close to fitting the original opening. Looked real bad. Other than the small area they crowd you through after checking in to make sure sign you up for one of their ownership presentations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Great place if you want to get bugged to go to a timeshare meeting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort is a vacation ownership property. We do give all our guests the option to attend an informative presentation on becoming a Diamond Resorts International owner. We never intend this to be a negative experience for our guests and we apologize if you felt otherwise. Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort would love the opportunity to provide you an exceptional vacation in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 29, 2017
It was fine everything was nice.getting to north tahoe was great short travel. Everything was closes.