Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the lake.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Big room and nice bathroom. Our room has a view of the lake.
Cons: None.
Location: Very close to the lake.
The hotel got the wrong dates for our stay, but the hotel staff was able to correct it and gave us the upgraded room for the trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The room was in good condition and clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful. This is a good place to stay for people that want to enjoy the casinos. The only complaint is the smoke from the casino but that is to be expected since if you stay here, you are selecting to stay in a casino. We did not get to use the pool since it was full of children. It would be nice if they had a separate area for adults. Overall, the stay was good and we had no real issues. If you want to stay in a casino and go to the bars in Nevada, then stay here. If you are looking for more nature, then stay in the California side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Fast check in, the bathroom was amazing, comfy beds, the gym and pool were really nice as well. Overall great stay, the only down side was the view of the air conditioning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NC

S.Lake Tahoe casino hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
We enjoyed staying in this clean, convenient, spacious casino hotel. Easy self-parking and great room allowed us to comfortably explore the Southern Lake Tahoe region for scenery, hiking and biking [we were lucky with great weather in late October]. The food available in the hotel was quite reasonable and delicious; the staff were courteous; and, of course, multiple gaming options were available. We linked to this area from Reno and proceeded on through wine country of El Dorado and Amador counties. All these locations are relatively easy drives. In essence, the Montbleu was a fine spot to stay during our travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel was a disappointment.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
When I looked at the hotel on line the pictures must have been from quite some time ago. The first thing that greeted us was the cigarette smoke. The person behind the desk assured me we would not smell the smoke in the room. That was not true - we definitely did. The bathroom in the room was quite nice although the lighting was dim. The rest of the room was OK but I found sunflower seeds on the floor from a previous guest. I was disappointed with our experience at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Jefferson, NY

Overnight stay in Lake Tahoe

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Cons: Add a mini fridge to the rooms!
Location: Great but pricey restaurant at the resort across the street on the lake with beautiful views.
Overall the hotel was ok but it was apparent that it was an older hotel refurbished. The disappointing aspect was the lack of the mini fridge. All the hotels I have stayed at over the years provide this amenity yet this one does not feel the need to do so. I like to keep my beverages like water cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Nice rooms for a good price

Posted Oct 10, 2017
I felt this hotel was worth the very affordable price we paid. Personally, in the future I will stay in an Airbnb though, only because Tahoe is too gorgeous to spend your time in a casino. We arrived at 12:30am and were put in a smoking room, even though our reservation said non smoking. I called down to the front desk and while I received a little bit of push back from the employee, I was moved to a non smoking room. I’m not someone who complains really ever, however when it comes to smoking or non-smoking there really should be no push back from the hotel, ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Oct 9, 2017
My experience was great. The hotel was as advertised and the rate was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Terrible Beds

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The mattresses were squeaky and uncomfortable. I was under the belief that this hotel had just undergone recent renovations. Why anyone would choose to renovate and not update the mattresses is beyond me. Also the air conditioning unit in our room worked poorly, even after the handyman took a look at it. I will not be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Room clean, but a.c. Made noise all night long. Casino just a little run down