Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Disappointing and tiresome

Posted Mar 7, 2018
Pros: see above
Cons: I hope renovations will make this hotel bearable. Right now, I cannot recommend staying there, unless you really need to be on the ski run...
Location: Great location for skiing/snowboarding. For anything else, a big no.
The good: - close to the ski run - free valet parking - nice & friendly staff - easy check-in & checkout. - nice, fluffy pillows, plus lots of towels in the bathroom. The bad: - hotel is currently undergoing (much needed) renovations, but there's no mention of this when booking. - restaurant is closed, the bar is limited to morning hours (and greasy croissants). There's only one other restaurant (Himmel Haus) within walking distance. - jacuzzi in the rooms have been disabled "as part of the renovation", which is lame. Again, not advertised. - Wifi is very slow, even though the connection to the hotel's routers is ok. Also, you need to reconnect every time you use it. - fireplace is just for visual effects, it does not heat the room at all (see below). The ugly: - HEATING: being winter (in Tahoe), heating is essential. Problem is, the thermostat is capped at 74.5F, and it's not accurate, so was much colder in the room. On top of this, when the heater starts (window AC/heating unit), it sounds like a squeaky toy and we just couldn't sleep because of it. As a bonus, there's some vent pushing cold air in the room, and you just can't turn that thing off. - water pressure is very weak. We had a leaky shower head, which was promptly replaced after we called the main desk, but even with a new head, the water would barely flow. - blankets (sorely needed, due to the lack of adequate heating) seem to predate the Civil War.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Nice and cozy for the winter. Great for the family.
4 out of 5
by Dawn


Posted Dec 6, 2017 on Hotels
Good service 1st dat ,but room was cold. Couldn't use the Jacuzzi tub, course of water shortage notice. But not a bad place
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, great location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Hotel is good. Location is great over looking a mountain. Rooms are very clean and with all amenities as promised. Looks slightly old, but everything is well maintained, so no complains. Price was reasonable. We enjoyed our stay and will book again next time we visit Tahoe.
5 out of 5
by Charlotte

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Tuan

Room layout is interesting

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
I didn't pay much attention to the posted photos of the room and was surprised by the layout. The shower is right in the middle of room, so it was a bit inconvenient to talk to the people in the other room, and it made the layout more cramp than it should. Overall good place to take a family or for 2 people, but not good for traveling with friends. Also there's not much around the area, go to stateline for more fun nightlife.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ridgefield, CT

Terrible hotel--do not stay here

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Very, very little. They did promptly bring new towels when I requested them.
Cons: See above.
Location: Not within walking distance to restaurants or easy morning foods. Have to have a car and need to take everywhere.
This was a clear bait and switch. I asked for a king bed, two singles, and a sofa couch. What I received was a queen bed, a murphy bed [which was a pull out bed that was double purpose as the kitchen table!], and a louse sofa couch. They did not supply you with shampoo or conditioner or "regular hotel amenities." The room was very cramped and oddly had an over-sized jacuzzi in the middle which took up 1/3 of the living space. This was a miserable room for 5 people, let alone the 6-person accommodation that they promoted. Moveover, there is NO DAILY housekeeping beyond emptying the trash--no bed making, towel replacement, etc. Plus, the breakfast place was being renovated with no options being provide except "deal with it." Last, they made you valet park your car EVERY TIME so that leaving/coming to the hotel was a major hassle, despite the no-tipping rule. I was also charged a resort fee--this is no way near a resort in any way, shape, or form.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice unique layout of room and location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The layout of the room
Cons: A/C, Jacuzzi in the room, parking.
Location: Located close to Lake Tahoe Blvd where restaurants and stores are located.
Stayed in the Standard Queen Room. The layout of the room is very unique and nice. Having microwave and small fridge is a plus. The downside is Jacuzzi not working, staff stayed it was turned off due to drought. A/C was not working properly. The valet-only parking is also rather a hassle. But, staff is very friendly. They tried to fix any issues brought up promptly.
4 out of 5
by Jessica

Would go again for the price!

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome service by the Valet and Bell Staff. Front Counter was slow for check in. The hotel needs some updating, but overall a great stay!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent location with ski lift across street

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Ski lift just a short walk across the street.
Cons: The onsite ski shop where you rented your skii, boots and poles were closed for several days eliminating ability to correct problems with equipment.
Location: Everything we needed was within 5 minutes - including other restaurants and casinos.
Stayed 7 days and the location and facility was very nice overall. I can see where the tub & shower unit would be a huge problem if an elderly person or someone with a physical disability. Very deep tub you had to step down into and getting out there was at least a 2-foot step down to floor. Not practical and with the water shortage you couldn't use the jacuzzi tub anyway. We were disappointed that the onsite restaurant was not open every day but more importantly, the ski rental shop was closed for several days during the week. My grandson had a problem with his ski boots and needed a different size; however, the shop was closed so we had to go buy different socks so he could continue skiing without causing significant pain.