Ratings based on 2,538 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Great location. We had some confusion over adding an additional night to our stay. Jeremy was great handling our reservation. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Sep 8, 2017
It's not a beautiful hotel, but the location is pretty good. The lake is a few steps away, and you can rent kayaks, jet skis, paddleboards, and boats. The staff was ok, they weren't super friendly, but they weren't rude either. We had to switch rooms after noticing the shower's sliding door was hanging by a thread.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, troublesome parking.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Awesome, affordable hotel right on the lake. Only major issue was parking. Attendant who checked us in mentioned there weren't enough spots for rooms and they didn't regulate how many cars per room were allowed so finding parking at night could be challenging. Also, advertised having the longest pier in Tahoe, but didn't allow guests to walk out onto it which was kind of a letdown. Other than that, the sports bar was an awesome place to spend an evening and the rooms were cozy. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to a friend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynden, WA

Hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 3, 2017
It is a little run down and our partial ocean view, which we paid extra money for, was obstructed by a large white tent that stayed in place during our whole 8 day stay. Overall, the stay was a good one, besides these issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valley Springs CA.

Older facility in need of remodeling.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The location and beachfront are wonderful.
Cons: Open the pier and remodel the rooms
Location: On the lake and less than 2 miles from State-line things to do are almost limitless.
The things that made this hotel and property special are now closed. As advertised "the longest pier in Lake Tahoe" is closed. We received 3 different stories as to why. The Beachfront restaurant is also closed. The wonderful hammocks are also gone. Rooms are in need of a serious update. We have been going to The Beach Lodge for years and will miss it as we certainly don't plan on returning. It's too bad as their property is one of the nicest on the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Aspiring to be more - baby steps I guess

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Central location, beach access, linens, overall cleanliness
Cons: TV options (choice and price), mattresses,
Location: Not far from State line casinos, but easy access to the lake, or hiking, skiing options
The primary drawback to being easily accessible and centrally located is the proximity to a very busy, and noisy highway. The Beach Retreat seems to be in the process of adding amenities, and more of a resort atmosphere as opposed to a motel feel. By and large they are doing a very good job, with the availability of dining options on the property, access to the beach, and very personable staff. We didn't get to try the beach side restaurant (it was closed on one of the days of our stay), nor the restaurant off the lobby, however, so cannot attest to the selection or quality of either. If you're staying in your room in the evening basic cable on TV is your main option with $20 On-demand movies being available. I do have to say that there was not a single selection of movie options that I would have paid $2, much less $20. Overall, our stay (with our two dogs) was pleasant but not spectacular. The Beach Retreat & Lodge will hopefully continue to make improvements, but if I came back I would ask to not be in either building A or E, as they front the highway, and all that come with that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

WAY OVERPRICED for just average rooms /grounds

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Cons: Either fix it up and offer more amenities or lower the price!
This place is much more expensive than other places around it simply because it has a beach. It is absolutely NOT worth it! The rooms are barely average, the buildings are run down and the grounds were dirty. There was a loud keg party happening on the beach when we were there. You'd think for the price there would at least be free coffee in the lobby??? But no, it costs more. Everything is more expensive than the hotels around it and not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sonoma county

Hotel nice beach location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Location was the nicest part of our stay. It's nice to be right on the lake. The restaurants were nice, on the property. The rooms were a little small and the bed not that comfortable. The TV remote was the wrong remote for the TV and we called to the front desk a couple of times , but never really got the problem resolved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: a more updated facility all around.
Location: lots
excellent location; however, it is in need of a facelift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

A great place to stay!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights with our two kids and loved The Beach Retreat. The location is right on the Lake, no need to even cross the street. Plus they have a pool. You can rent kayaks and paddleboards right from the beach. We ate in the restaurant in the lobby and were happy with that, but they also have a restaurant out on the pier which would be a great spot. Rooms were clean. Double beds, not queen so that is a little tight but we knew that when we booked. There is a Safeway across the street if you want to pick up some snacks to keep in your room. And your aren't far from plenty of restaurants and shopping. We did walk to dinner one night. My only complaint which has nothing to do with the hotel was that they were doing work on the sidewalks throughout the area which could make walking places a little tricky.