Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017
Thanks for your review!
1 out of 5
by Kris

Nightmare

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
What a dump! I'm really kicking myself for waiting so long to book a hotel for our weekend get away! Almost all the rooms in town were already booked, and are certainly booked now or else we would high tail it out of here! Check in was easy enough, but upon entering the room, the incredibly filthy carpet was the first sign of trouble. We did not take our shoes off at all. The furniture is a mix of rustic cabin and thrift store cast offs, the dusty fake plant above the tv was no help. Our first use of the sink revealed a clog, which seemed to spit what looked like vomit out if the pipe. The front desk attendant seemed surprised when we requested help since no one had complained about our sink yet. He fixed it with a toilet plunger. He was cheerful enough about it. The pillows are misshapen and need to be replaced, and the beds are structurally unsound, very wobbly! The curtains did not close, and the light in the bathroom is very dim. The kicker though....the pool advertised online, is EMPTY! It's August and the pool is empty. I paid way more for this dump than most other reviews, probably because it was one of the only rooms left in town. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay here again and it's all I can do to not just drive home and sleep in my own clean, comfortable bed. To top it off, the desk clerk who checked us out could have cared less about our stay, and we paid about three times the normal rate because of the busy weekend. Terrible, horrible, awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you for your critique. It sounds like our staff did everything possible to assist you, so I will commend them for that. We are constantly in the process of replacing carpets and furniture in the rooms. As a pet friendly hotel, and a hotel that hosts lots of outdoor enthusiasts, we are always fighting that battle. Sorry your room wasn't completed yet, however the floors are sanitary, as we steam clean them after every stay. The beds were replaced 2 years ago. We will look into your room to make sure the frame hasn't come loose. As for the pool, we do not and have not ever advertised it online. It has been out of use for over 15 years. We have even taken steps with google to remove any pictures of the pool area, so travelers do not get confused. If you have a link to where you saw this we would welcome the feedback, to have it removed. Thank you
2 out of 5
by Carla

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017
Thanks for the input!
2 out of 5
by Stephanie

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Smelled of wet smelly dog and stained carpet. the tub didn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017
Hi Stephanie! Thanks for your comments. We have been working hard to update the property and are currently installing new carpet in our rooms. We also offer rooms with standard bath tubs as well as a few of the jetted variety. In addition we are also pet friendly and have rooms set aside for that purpose. We always strive to help our guests find the right room type that fits your needs during the reservation process as well as after arrival. -Thanks!
4 out of 5
by Chen-Hsuan

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017
We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for staying with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Centrally located

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Only the staff. Very friendly
Cons: Cleanliness definitely
Although it was very quiet I still did not sleep well because the room had stains all over the carpet and so that made me feel like I could not put bare feet on the floor or shower. Did not bring any flip flops to wear in the shower. The bathroom floors had dirt in the corners like it had not been touched in years. There was no coffe maker in the room which I thought about having when I got home only to find none. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by MGMT, Hotel Management
Hello Traveler - We are sorry you found the room unacceptable, we will review the cleanliness and make the necessary changes. I do apologize for the lack of coffee when you came home, however we have free coffee and tea in the office for all our thirsty travelers most of the day. We also have free coffee makers upon request at the front desk for those who like to get up early or go to bed late. On your next trip just ask for one and we will be happy to provide it for you. Best, MGMT
4 out of 5
by Michelle

Tahoe Vacay!

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
We had a good time. This hotel will get the job done, no bells and whistles but we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
1 out of 5
by Arunabha

Horrible!

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotels management is horrible! They did not clean our room on second day. We cam back at night and found there was no towels, no soaps, etc. They did not do the room cleaning at all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017
Hello Traveler! We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I do remember your stay. We do not like to intrude on our travelers' privacy, therefore we have a door hanger with a "do not disturb/ clean room" that we inform you to use if you would like to have the room turned. It is stated on the FAQ sheet located near your door on the wall. As management, I received a call to replace said items in the evening around 10pm and promptly brought those items to the room within 5 minutes. Best of luck to you in your travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels