Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Location, Friendly Staff

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Disco ball in the lobby
Cons: More toiletries--soap for shower and sink.
The Trailhead is the perfect resting spot for your ski trip to South Lake Tahoe. Location is great. Rooms are comfortable. Amenities are basic but fit our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by D, Hotel Management
Let's dance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Super convenient

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Proximity to SnowGlobe and Heavenly.
Our stay at The Trailhead coincided with the SnowGlobe music festival. Our room easily accommodated 5 of us and the lodge was surprisingly quiet for New Year's weekend. Road noise wasn't a problem, nor were noisy neighbors. It was an easy walk to Heavenly Village. Most of all, the front desk staff was extremely helpful. Great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by D, Hotel Management
We're glad you liked it! Hope to see you next year!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very unusual room set up, the tub shower combo was in the bedroom, there was any iron but no ironing board. Needs non slip bath may in the tub for safety and a hand rail as tub was unusual shape.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017
Hello Traveler, At "The Trailhead" we have several different room types, with several tub shower options. Sorry this setup did not work for your needs. Our very knowledgeable staff works hard to address any issues or concerns that arise during ones stay. We take the guest experience very seriously, and appreciate your feedback. -With Thanks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-so

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very nice and accommodating, but the hotel itself was run down and needs a lot of work. The beds were lumpy, the appliances in the room were just barely functioning, and the insulation for both heat and noise was non-existent. I had to turn the heat way up, even though it was warm outside. I also think that they have people staying there long-term, who are very inconsiderate and make lots of noise: they let their kids run up and down the shared deck space in front of every room and the adults sit out front and talk loudly well into the night. I would only stay here again because the staff was so nice and very apologetic about their rude guests; they let me switch rooms easily and even upgraded my room. But that being said, I would only consider staying here again as a last resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017
Hello Traveler, We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We are always working to improve our guest experience and appreciate your feedback. As you experienced, our friendly, and helpful staff is willing and able to address any concerns that may arise during a stay. -Best Regards!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017
Thanks for your review!
1 out of 5
by Kris

Nightmare

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
What a dump! I'm really kicking myself for waiting so long to book a hotel for our weekend get away! Almost all the rooms in town were already booked, and are certainly booked now or else we would high tail it out of here! Check in was easy enough, but upon entering the room, the incredibly filthy carpet was the first sign of trouble. We did not take our shoes off at all. The furniture is a mix of rustic cabin and thrift store cast offs, the dusty fake plant above the tv was no help. Our first use of the sink revealed a clog, which seemed to spit what looked like vomit out if the pipe. The front desk attendant seemed surprised when we requested help since no one had complained about our sink yet. He fixed it with a toilet plunger. He was cheerful enough about it. The pillows are misshapen and need to be replaced, and the beds are structurally unsound, very wobbly! The curtains did not close, and the light in the bathroom is very dim. The kicker though....the pool advertised online, is EMPTY! It's August and the pool is empty. I paid way more for this dump than most other reviews, probably because it was one of the only rooms left in town. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay here again and it's all I can do to not just drive home and sleep in my own clean, comfortable bed. To top it off, the desk clerk who checked us out could have cared less about our stay, and we paid about three times the normal rate because of the busy weekend. Terrible, horrible, awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you for your critique. It sounds like our staff did everything possible to assist you, so I will commend them for that. We are constantly in the process of replacing carpets and furniture in the rooms. As a pet friendly hotel, and a hotel that hosts lots of outdoor enthusiasts, we are always fighting that battle. Sorry your room wasn't completed yet, however the floors are sanitary, as we steam clean them after every stay. The beds were replaced 2 years ago. We will look into your room to make sure the frame hasn't come loose. As for the pool, we do not and have not ever advertised it online. It has been out of use for over 15 years. We have even taken steps with google to remove any pictures of the pool area, so travelers do not get confused. If you have a link to where you saw this we would welcome the feedback, to have it removed. Thank you
2 out of 5
by Carla

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017
Thanks for the input!
2 out of 5
by Stephanie

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Smelled of wet smelly dog and stained carpet. the tub didn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017
Hi Stephanie! Thanks for your comments. We have been working hard to update the property and are currently installing new carpet in our rooms. We also offer rooms with standard bath tubs as well as a few of the jetted variety. In addition we are also pet friendly and have rooms set aside for that purpose. We always strive to help our guests find the right room type that fits your needs during the reservation process as well as after arrival. -Thanks!
4 out of 5
by Chen-Hsuan

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017
We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for staying with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Centrally located

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Only the staff. Very friendly
Cons: Cleanliness definitely
Although it was very quiet I still did not sleep well because the room had stains all over the carpet and so that made me feel like I could not put bare feet on the floor or shower. Did not bring any flip flops to wear in the shower. The bathroom floors had dirt in the corners like it had not been touched in years. There was no coffe maker in the room which I thought about having when I got home only to find none. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by MGMT, Hotel Management
Hello Traveler - We are sorry you found the room unacceptable, we will review the cleanliness and make the necessary changes. I do apologize for the lack of coffee when you came home, however we have free coffee and tea in the office for all our thirsty travelers most of the day. We also have free coffee makers upon request at the front desk for those who like to get up early or go to bed late. On your next trip just ask for one and we will be happy to provide it for you. Best, MGMT