Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, outdated.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: No much.
Cons: Everything - especially the facilities.
Location: Centrally locate in center of Brno and very convenient if you have business to take care of there.
Have stayed at this hotel several times before advantage is its location. However, it has not been renovated since about the 80's, there is no AC, and noise level is currently terrible as half the block is being torn down. The management does not seem to care, the staff is helpful as much as they can. There are no coffee or water heaters in the rooms, no washcloths, no soap. Would consider staying there again, but not until it is fully rennovated and has AC (no place for a mid-summer trip!).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Martin from Moscow

OK hotel with terrible cleaners.

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is fine and generally clean, but quite dated and the cleaning staff seem to stop working by midday. This meant that we had no room cleaning twice out of three days (our baby was sleeping) and on the day that there was room cleaning the cleaners chose not to empty the full bathroom bin (which contained used nappies amongst other things). The kettle that we were provided with took 10 minutes to heat up (but that was even a difficult request). The breakfast was average, with very friendly service, but the high chair provided was never cleaned while we were there (as we needed to clean it ourselves as well as we could manage with serviettes). Location is excellent, just 5 minutes away from the central square on foot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Mirek Zimcik, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, thank you very much for your review. I forwarded all your complaints to our GM and housewife. They assured me that they will arrange the redress. About kettle I understand the problem it is due strict law and safety regulations of the hotel (It is prohibited to use in the room any electrical appliances outside the specified points). As far as I know our receptionists offered you room with small kitchen (but there were 2 separate beds). We have improved also service of hotel breakfast as same as assortment to choose. Hopefully we see you here again Mirek Zimcik - Front office manager
2 out of 5
by Frank from London

update soon

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel needs serious updating and was not good value for money. Staff at reception very helpful, but elsewhere the service was poor. It was hot and so uncomfortable with no air conditioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Mirek Zimcik, Hotel Management
Dear Frank , thank you very much for your review. I forwarded all your complaints to our GM. We are expecting that another small changes will come next year, but it is very slow and longterm process. We have improved also service of hotel breakfast as same as assortment for choose. Hopefully we see you here again Mirek Zimcik - Front office manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very kind at reception. Rooms show they care about the property. But there is a point when care can do so much. If you want to experience how hotels were during the Soviet age (without updates since the fall of Communism), there you go. I'll pass it the next time. Worst thing in summer: no A/C, and it's hot. We went to breakfast BEFORE checking out, and then when we came back to the room at 9am, they had already taken it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Mirek Zimcik, Hotel Management
Dear , thank you very much for your review and praise on our staff at reception and housekeeping dept. I have forwarded your comments to our GM. We are expecting that another small changes will come next year, but it is very slow and long term process, even after such years which have passed since Berlin wall had fallen. We have improved also service of hotel breakfast as same as assortment for choose. Hopefully we see you here again Mirek Zimcik - Front office manager
4 out of 5
by Anil from u a e

Great Location

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
Positive: Excellant location in the city centre & Nice breakfast Negative: Rooms need make over (It is high time)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Mirek Zimcik, Hotel Management
Dear Anil, thank you very much for your evaluation, hopefully we will be able to organize another small changes even next year. Unfortunately, sometimes you need more than enthusiasm in to the work especially for reconstruction of such huge range of old historical building. We will do our best and hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
by Gregory P from Vienna

Outstanding service, comfort, location and value

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
Should start by saying that I reviewed hotel options carefully, and knew what to expect as far as the 1980s decor. Was very impressed with the price/quality ratio of the room considering a last minute booking. After we realized we were in a smoking room (smokers next door), we asked to switch to a nonsmoking room -- the receptionist provided us a new non-smoking room immediately, which was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was just fine. Location is perfect. Free wifi was fast. Parking in the back of the hotel was easy (free on a holiday). Provided you don't care to watch TV, you will have a very nice experience here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Mirek Zimcik, Hotel Management
Dear Gregory, thank you for such a positive review, hope to see you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

The Hotel Slavia Brno

Posted Mar 30, 2012 on Hotels
Pros: Locaton, size of room refigirator and safe in room. Cons: you cant get tea or coffee once the restaurant is closed, no tea ammenities in room. The internet service is as good as none, maybe its a dialup modem but its no good at all, you are better off using your phone. Had problems everyday with my door key Breakfast was minimal Rooms were too dark, light inadequate. Have to pay for car parking and being constantly requested to move to move my car for the arrival of coaches. if comfort and availability of standard service is what you are looking for you wont find it at this hotel, but if all you are after is convenience to city centre and where to lay your head for the night then its ok