Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel and Spa facilities.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Found hotel comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the spa facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only complaint is the over priced drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Nice hotel. Parking always available. The bar and restaurant food is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Excellent wedding venue

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Went to a beautiful friends wedding and they went above and beyond to endure all guests for the celebrations were catered for with individual needs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Close to M1 . Lots of parking. Close to Shopping O

Posted Nov 5, 2017
This is our 3rd stay at the Derbyshire. Staff are pleasant professional and friendly. Breakfast very tasty. Our room this time was slightly dated and only complaints is the mattres, which needs replacing, springy and noisy causing us a bad nights sleep. The carpet is threadbare in places .Wont stop us returning though. Overall happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The staff were excellent and the food was very good.
Cons: Needs updating. Brightening up and a new mattress is needed in the room we stayed in.
Location: Derbyshire is a very beautiful place. The scenery is spectacular and there are so many places to visit it is hard to choose.
Staff are excellent, very helpful and they can't do enough for you. The food was cooked beautifully, it was a treat to eat there. They had plenty to chose from when it came to gluten free food. The room was very clean but a bit tired and dated. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tyne and wear

Nice hotel close to M1

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Position off M1, accessible for tourists, most areas of hotel very smart.
Cons: Some bedrooms need upgrading.
Location: Good location for exploring Derbyshire, Alton towers etc
Hotel very nice but our room was in the basement and had a rather drab old fashioned appearance. There seems to be a problem with dampness as there was black round the window frame. Have stayed in this hotel previously and had a much nicer room. The breakfast was very good and there was aside choice from cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and a cooked breakfast.would have appreciated breakfast being a little later than 7-9 am when on holiday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Will not be returning

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We booked a family room for one night as it was very close to a family member that we were visiting. There were 4 of us staying in the room (2 adults and 2 children) as indicated at the time of booking but the room was not fit for purpose. It was a room for 3 with a put you up put in there to make up the numbers but this meant that half of the room was inaccessible without moving the bed. The room also looked grubby and needs freshening up. A lot of money for one shabby room for the night. Glad we didn't pay the extra £14.75 each for breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Ronald

Ideal

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Was good for us visiting friends/family in that area
5 out of 5
by Anthony

weekend away

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
good facilities (steam room, sauna, swimming pool) easy access from M1 - good base for exploring some of Derbyshire
5 out of 5
by alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels