Ratings based on 1,077 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Didn't think the hotel would be good but it ended up being better than I thought. Pretty decent location, not too far away from the city and South of Market has some great restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Soma hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Great, accommodating staff. Clean rooms. Pretty close to Bart/public transit. Rooms are okay but outdated. This hotel has a ton of potential. Improve the breakfast, i'd suggest they offer water and coffee in the rooms. Thank you to the nice staff!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Haunted or just not functioning correctly??????

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Continued: He started raising his voice at me and I walked away from him I don’t need to be talked to like that. For the next 2 days he is harassing
Cons: Continued: my partner. So I called expedia and that lady I wanted to nvm. Basically nice hotel dusty and old school but nice.
Location: Only thing they need to change is the management. Someone who is running a hotel in SF should not have a issue to LGBT community. NEVER STAY HERE!
So we checked in and the manager was really nice when we 1st got there. He came out and helped me with a back pack from the car and it was like night and day. He imidieatly put my bag down and started offering canceling my reservation with out charging me. I advised him that we liked our room so no thank you we would be staying. Little did I know he had seen I had my rainbow stickers on my car and didn’t like LGBT folk. We went up and got settled in and I ended up passing out while my partner went out to meet up with friends. I woke up at 11:30 pm to find nothing in the room working. No lamps, fridge, microwave, bathroom light NOTHING! I managed to get dressed in the dark because I had to make it to the airport and pick up my brother from the airport. On my way out I advised the guy working down stairs that the power was out in my room. He said he would look into it. I got back about 2 and a half hours later to find it still not working. I went down the hall and found the circit breaker and flipped it and nothing. So I went back down stairs and had the guy come up. He was less help then a 2 year old. So he says he is going to give me another room. We go down stairs and he moves me into 410. I said thank you. Moved everything into the next room and woke up to the manager letting me know it was going to be and additional $20per night for that room. I asked him why I would be charged for going to another room when your facility stopped working.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

The worse experience

Posted Dec 29, 2017
The worse experience. The rooms are dirty, the toilet had poop , the towels was too nasty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location... amazing staff

Posted Dec 22, 2017
From the receptionist Angelique to owner Hasu..the staff were exceptional. The rooms were a bit dated... but given the neighborhood and the price it was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orangevale, CA

Parking 2 1/2 blocks away and $20

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: it was clean and staff were friendly
Cons: Parking situation
Location: It is close to The Embarcadero and Justin Herman Plaza
The reason I give it a disappointing review is there is no parking onsite. Parking is 2 1/2 blocks away and cost $20. Being disabled, it was a nightmare. Paid to park at the lot and was told it was OK to leave and come back. After the concert I was in town for, I returned to the parking lot and was told "no in and out privileges" and almost felt strong armed into paying an additional $40 in fear of having my car towed. Hotel staff did call the lot owner and straighten things out, but will never book at this hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Worst hotel experience of my life!!!!

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Let me start off by saying that i would never recommend you staying here. There a numerous amount of reasons why and I will try and lay them all out for you. check in was at 3pm. I called the night before to see if I can do an early check in because I knew the drive was going to be a long one and me and my 2 friends were going to be tired. A male answered the phone I told him my request and he said it is most likely a yes but call us tomorrow morning before you come in to see if your room is available I said great. Come the time for me wanting to check in, I call around 1030 am on Saturday, a lady answers and I ask her if is it possible for me to do early check in she said no. I said why the person i spoke to last night said I can possibly do early check in she asked for my name I gave it to her and not even a half a minute passes by and she says no your room is not available but you can call us back in a hour to check. come the time of actual check in time I get to the hotel and the concierge doesn’t even have the slightest bit of fake happiness you would expect to get from them. Her name is Angelica. She was on her phone when I arrived had one earphone on while attending us. I wanted to pay cash they don’t take cash. when reserving online they ask you to put a card down. my friend put his but when we paid we used a different card. My friends card the one we put online got charged not the one we gave Angelica. the room was semi dirty. Don’t stay here! Save yourself!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location, great staff, cozy room

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, great staff, safe at night, nice room.
Cons: Everything is pretty good. Can't think of anything. Maybe some warm tone lights in the room. Not a fan of cool lighting. Other than that it's great.
Location: Tons of fun stuff to do in the city.
We are really enjoying our stay here. The efficiency is great. The hotel is tucked into a little a dead end street and our room is on the fourth floor. It's quiet and cozy. There's two hour parking nearby. Overnight parking is a breeze. This part of the city is very quiet at night and feels totally safe. The staff are great. We highly recommend this hotel. Older building but neat, clean, and relaxing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what it seems

Posted Dec 5, 2017
This was not what we expected. The elevator had a horrible smell of urine and bleach or some type of cleaning chemical. The rooms were not clean fully but moderate. I found left over items from previous guests.The Tv box was broken from the wall so it hung and didn't work as well as expected the Tv would shut off on its own mid show. Also there was a deposit that was not mentioned prior so it came as a mild shock.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Not clean, noisy, and run down

Posted Nov 21, 2017
A trip scheduled as a reunion for my best friend and I was great except for this hotel. The room was not cleaned properly and a loud knocking noise in the wall kept us up all night. The only room they could move us to was above a loud nightclub (we were in town for a marathon so needed sleep) . There were leftover items including pills, socks, and handkerchiefs from previous people that stayed in the room. There were holes in the ceiling, liquid splatter on wall and the bathroom door hadn’t been cleaned in what looked like forever. No one was EVER at the front desk to help, just a maintence worker who I had to look for in the hallway. Very disappointing considering it was $684 for three nights. Go somewhere FAR FAR away from this place. And as for ANY sort of refund forget it, the hotel manager wouldn’t budge for even a penny.