Ratings based on 1,624 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

A bad hotel in an even crappier zip code.

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Do not-repeat-do not book this hotel. It is right in the middle between south market and tenderloin, the worst districts in San Francisco (which we did not know beforehand). The streets around the hotel are literally packed with homeless people, drug users, beggars etc. (and I mean packed to the extend you struggle to even get through). We even spotted a syringe in the street. Apart from that, the hotel is also extremely disappointing from a number of perspectives. Parking at 35$ per day?? The breakfast was a joke: a muffin, a banana and a cup of coffee. That's it. No juice, no cereal, no nothing. That's their idea of thanksgiving. In my eyes, insulting at best. We had to buy breakfast (somewhere else) after breakfast at the hotel. The vending machine (the one on the 3rd floor) was broken, so was the fan in the room. We had to leave our door open to get fresh air. I wouldn't book this hotel again, not in a lifetime, not even if I was paid to do it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Not happy with housekeeping

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We stayed there last week. Left an hour prior when realized we forgot a very nice cashmere shawl. Called right away. We knew exactly where it was. Housekeeping denied it was there. Very very irritating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Best Western Hotels & Resorts , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Excellent stay , the room was very clean and spacious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For some reason some rooms have AC and some don't.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Not impressed for a BW. The breakfast was a sack with granola bars. Some rooms had AC but mine didn't and was so warm it was tough to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Best Western Hotels & Resorts , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Emeryville, CA

OK Hotel in the Heart of SOMA

Posted Sep 28, 2017
This hotel is very nicely located and the staff is very friendly and attentive. However, it is in need of many upgrades. The AC system consists of stand-alone machines sitting in the room, which take up a lot of space and are extremely noisy. It can be almost impossible to find electrical outlets (except in the bathrooms). So, good luck with recharging your devices. The coffee-maker was sitting on a dresser with no outlet nearby, so it had to be carried into the bathroom just to be serviceable. Closets (with no doors) are much too small. WiFi was good.
5 out of 5
by Francisco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice hotel in central location, close to transport

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Wotif
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as a family of 5. The room had a modern fit out & comfortably fit our family on 2 double beds plus a fold out couch. In the corner of the room the carpet was ripped & the carpet outside the bathroom was damp but all in all, the hotel was better than expected from reading previous reviews. There is no air-conditioning which was ok for our stay because the weather wasn't too hot but this might be a problem in summer. The front desk staff were helpful & we ate in the onsite restaurant for both breakfast & dinner which was convenient & had a good vibe. We took a short walk to catch the trolley bus down to Fisherman's Wharf.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for 1 night

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
The room was big and clean, but the lights flickered a lot. Trying to call the front desk in the morning was impossible. It was an okay room and experience for only one night.
4 out of 5
by Ricardo

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
If you have guests, they have to ask for an elevator key to come up, or you have to pick them up. That's odd... i don't want the hotel to know my business! I didn't tell this to the staff, so I don't know what their response would've been, but the water had control (lol, sounds funny), the water would just be HOT. One of the maids blamed it on the heat, but no. Sometimes the water would come out cold, if i wiggle the faucet enough. That was for both: the sink and bath. I just dealt with it. Other than that: AWESOME hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the worst night I ever had since 3 years in the U

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: downtown
Cons: A/C
We faced a heat wave in San Francisco (temp over 95°F); we got our keys in the afternoon and after opening the room we discovered a tiny "family" suite with 2 little rooms, tiny beds and on top of it no air conditioning I called the reception and they were sorry about it proposing us to get outside to get fresh air... 80% of the rooms were equipped with a portable system but they did never propose us to change rooms or any other solutions. Swimming pool: we were hoping at least to get a refreshing small bath ... the temperature of the water was even higher than the air (over 85°F!) as the swimming pool was put on "sauna" mode...meaning no solution to cool down... we tried to sleep with open windows but the noise was very loud in the surrounding streets... We slept overall 2 or 3 hours that night...definitely not recommended in summer for families