Ratings based on 854 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This hotel is very dated. Tiny lobby with no aminities like gym. Complimentary breakfast is really pathetic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed was uncomfortable.
Hotel is nice for the age. Not bad at all, but not super awesome. You need to be careful at night as their are a lot of homeless people out on the streets. Pretty close to down town and the Moscone Center which is what we were going for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's ok

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We liked the look of the rooms... We went during a heat wave and it was horrible in the room. We were told A.C. wasn't working. Then was told all the fans in the stores were sold out so they couldn't buy fans. We were miserable for 2 nights. We were then moved to a different room the last 3 nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Posted Aug 27, 2017
I'm horrified to say I think there were bed bugs. It's unfortunate because despite the "gritty" location, it's a cute hotel with access to a fitness center and a small breakfast (although there should be an option for getting a box that has a gluten free pastry in it; I'm sure the neighborhood homeless woman appreciated the blueberry muffins though). But I have small bites on my legs that I couldn't have gotten from anything else. I was also charged an extra $20 to stay in the same room (I had two separate consecutive reservations) even though I had reserved the same room type, I was told they were different room types. Not my fault they put me in a different room type at initial check in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Charming Hotel in a Central Location

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The staff is helpful and friendly. Restaurants are in walking distance but be careful in the neighborhood, especially at night.
Location: The Carriage Inn is near the BART so you'll have access the this incredible city.
The Carriage Inn is a charming hotel in the center of San Francisco. The Americana, directly across 7th, has a pool and gym for your use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Room
Cons: Breakfast
Great little hotel with good access to Market street. Also has use of Best Western hotel pool across the street. The rooms were clean, spacious and smartly decorated. The only disappointment was the excuse for a so called continental breakfast. A muffin and and orange in a box does not come close to breakfast. Watch out for Expedia hotels claiming continental breakfast included. They invariably mean a coffee and muffin/pastry at the service desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, central location (but not at night)

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The room was relatively spacious, staff friendly and helpful. The location to transport and the heart of the city was excellent. However, the drug/homelessness in the area does not feel safe. Uber/taxi at night.
5 out of 5
by Robb

You can,t lose with this one

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
I luv this place and stay there often. The rooms, location and staff are all great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Great hotel & great value! We would absolutely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice...but...

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
The room had a bad acrid smell. The room otherwise was nice as were the staff. There were many homeless people in the area. I didn't feel safe outside at night.