Ratings based on 1,381 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Basic hotel but clean and well run

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Great no frills value Good location. Rooms are smallish but good. Would be nice to have hair dryer in room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern New Jersey

The Good Hotel is an all right hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff & the cleanliness of my room.
Location: The Civic Center area is pretty grungy
As the name implies, the Good Hotel is not a great hotel, but it isn't bad either. My room was clean and well kept. The staff was friendly & helpful. The neighborhood around the Civic Center is pretty grungy and filled with homeless people and no decent restaurants. Would I go back to the Good Hotel again? Yes, because the rate was reasonable and the room clean and acceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Only good thing about this hotel is location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Don't be fooled by professional photos, this place is a dump. Overall cleanliness and comfortabilitly where not good, possibly the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in and while the area is loud in general the construction across the street contrubited to excessive noise. 1⭐️
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, noisy at night

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Room was on air shaft, noisy at night but room was ok good bed Friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Good Hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
My Mistress and I stayed here to attend the folsom street fair. Thought the place was quite charming with it's "Be Good" Stickers on the wall, glow in the dark goodnight on the ceiling, and pleasing color scheme. The HVAC units condenser leaked a little, but otherwise the place was great. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Thumbs up

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
It was great
3 out of 5
by Ollivette

Room rate was 50% less than major chains so...

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is located in an area that is close to local attractions such as the civic center, library, Asian Museum. Fisherman's Ward. Chinatown and upscale shopping are a short bus, trolley, subway trip away. BUT the two block walk to transportation ends at a large, but clean homeless population area. Hotel room reminded me of my dorm (sparse, no drawers, ceiling fan). Decorator must have shopped at Ikea but the staff was very helpful with directions, suggestions and precautions.
1 out of 5
by Tony

Bad expierience!

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Construction was horrible all nite long and throughout the day. Had to switch rooms in the middle of the nite due to a runaway fan. That smelled really bad like the wires were burning! Beds were hard and uncomfortable! Bathrooms very small and showers so small it was hard to move.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised.

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
This place is not as advertised. The most Hotels.com was willing to do was give us a $100 voucher, which doesn't cover the cost of one night stay at this "Hotel". The pool and other amenities are located in another hotel down the street. Room was damp, smelled, had a stained carpet, uncomfortable beds, terrible pillows and a computer monitor for a television. Felt more like a Motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Yikes

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Cons: Everything is dingy and dirty.
Unfortunatley my experience was not what I had expected nor hoped for. Photophraph's on the website must be outdated because they show a much nicer, cleaner, trendier and more equipped hotel than the reality. Building is old and worn inside. Furnishings and amenities are lacking, bed is uncomfortable, and was covered in loose human hair upon arrival. Tv is tiny, theres no A/c or heater, and pillows were weak. Do not recommend, theres better places in the area for the price.