Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2018
An obviously older facility brought to excellent modern standards. Very nice place. Very helpful, friendly staff. Great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2018
Nice hotel on the bay and walking distance to lots of good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the Five Star review. Your time is appreciated. I hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you in the future. Sincerely, Scott Ostrander Area General Manger Greystone Hotels Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Posted May 4, 2018
Comfortable and convenient to the Ferry Bldg and AT&T Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
Hi, Frank! Thanks for the Four Star rating of Hotel Griffon. I am happy that you found our location to serve your needs well. I hope to see you again at The Griffon. Regards, Scott Ostrander Area General Manger Greystone Hotels Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2018
Night over for Giants game! Bicycle taxi to ball park, Perry's for drinks and dinner, comfy stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review. Sounds like everything went perfect for the ballgame! See you next time you are in town. Regards, Scott Ostrander General Manager Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2018
The hotel has small rooms, I was by the ice machine, so have a skewed perspective, however, this is the fourth time I have stayed there. Perrys is awesome and so is the Y and Sushi next door. Rincon is a great location and so is Cafe Americano and Rosa Mexicano close by. Front desk folks are wonderful. Overall I love it, but it is expensive for me and hard to get in as it is often overbooked, but if you work in the Fidi it is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your kind words. On your next visit, please ask for me when you arrive. I would very much like to meet you and further ensure you have a great visit. See you again soon! Regards, Scott Ostrander General Manager Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SAN FRANCISCO

CAME TO SF FOR OPENING DAY AT THE GIANTS.

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Pros: EVERY THING
Cons: COFFEE, COFFEE, COFFEE IN THE ROOMS IN GAWD AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: FISHERMAN WHARF, SHOPPING, SLANTED DOOR, ONE MARKET, BOULEVARD.
FAVORITE HOTEL IN SF. LOVE PERRYS. GREAT WALK TO GIANTS STADIUM
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
David, Thanks so much for the great review. Good News! We are changing the out the guest room coffee in mid-May. You'll have to stay again for a Giants game so you can sample. Cheers, Scott Ostrander General Manager Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great location, clean and affordable

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Great for a quick getaway. Good restaurants nearby and the pier is right across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
Thanks for the Five Star Rating, Dre! See you on your next visit when you are looking for a quick getaway. With best regards, Scott Ostrander General Manager Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You wanna stay here!!

Posted Mar 23, 2018 on Hotels
This is a GREAT Boutique Hotel. It is right across the street from the Bay and has views of the Oakland Bridge. From my window I could see people on the Embarcadero running, walking their dogs, etc. The room was small but incredibly well laid out so I didn't feel cramped. Large vanity with sink in the room, Toilet and Bath/Shower in the bathroom. They also have two windows, both of which can be opened, but if you want quiet, you just shut both of them. Front desk staff, bellman, Valet and Room Service were outstanding. Did I mention the lobby of the hotel is also the entrance to Perry's Embarcadero, an icon in S.F. Oh yeah, they are using tablets in the room for news, alarm, ordering room service, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thanks a million for your multiple reviews on multiple sites; including Hotels.com. See you again on your next stay at Hotel Griffon. At your service, Scott Ostrander General Manager Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your Four Star rating on Hotels.com. On behalf of our staff, I look forward to serving you again. Regards, Scott Ostrander General Manager Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by Scott O., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am most appreciate of your Five Star rating. I hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco. Regards, Scott Ostrander General Manager Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero