Ratings based on 8,338 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Expensive for the serivce provided , the hotel is very old and a change is needed Location near the tenderloin was a bad idea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Staff was amazing. Very attentive to detail and ensuring your stay is comfortable and pleasing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Jan 15, 2018
I stayed at this hotel once before. During my last visit they apologized for the state of the rooms saying that they were renovating. This time the room I had was even worse I.e. the carpet was coming up, bathroom straight out of the 50s and dirty, and the housekeeping staff did not even pay enough attention to properly clean the bathroom. The front desk staff was less than helpful. The lighting in the room was poor and to add the room was more expensive this time?! I travel a great deal and this has to be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Not as expected

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The neighborhood is not so good, surrounded with strange activity and a lot of homeless individuals. Not ideal for 2 women friends traveling alone. The hotel room is different then expected from the pictures posted online, dissapointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Nice but a tiny creepy. The room was very clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, On, Canada

Run Down and Terrible

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: It had exits.
Cons: The list is too long.......way too long.
Location: It's close to better hotels
From the pictures one might think this is a grand old hotel, maybe it used to be. It has not been kept up and what a shame. This beautiful old structure has been let go. The lighting that greets you in the lobby is your first sign that this place is run on a budget. Cracks on the wall make you wonder if they've been there from some earth quake a century ago. The run down floors in the elevators have you wondering if it's been serviced in years. When you finally get to your room you'll be greeted by your very own industrial size toilet that's probably been in use since in use since WW2. The carpet was filthy, we didn't leave anything on the floor in fear of critters that might blend in with the grime. I stepped on a Malteezer that some former guest left behind. Right after checking in for our 3 nights we went to our rooms and booked in a much nicer Hotel (Hotel Diva) for the next 2 nights. 10x better, and cheaper. One nice feature was having a security guard in the front lobby who was too busy on her phone to be of any real use. You know you're in a good place and safe area when they have a guard welcoming you and not a concierge. I slept on top of my sheets, and as soon as we were all up and ready to leave after one horrible night we were gone. Stay away from this hotel. They don't deserve your money. Somebody with some money and vision needs to bring this hotel back from the dead. A truly sad experience for my first night ever in San Fran.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Area is appalling

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Based on the reviews and pictures I anticipated an older hotel and small room, which I was fine with. The interior was very ornate, staff was friendly, room did the job well enough and I do not have much to complain about with the overall accommodations. What I can complain about is the horde of homeless people that congregate around this hotel daily. I witnessed several drug deals go down, endured people screaming at me as I walked by, and saw a homeless person inject themselves in the neck with a needle in the sideview mirror of a parked car right outside the hotel. Nobody should have to go through that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Dark, cold, shows age. A few really nice staff, a few very checked out staff, but mostly felt old, tired and a lot of little things broken here and there. Feels like doing the best with what they have but could very much use a refurbishing in a way that recouped what was probably grandeur back in the day with modern amenities and freshness
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Due to high occupancy I paid 6x the rate of a normal stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oro Valley AZ

Old style hotel close to central SF and a BART Sta

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Location, history.
Cons: Better heating unit in room.
Location: Go to Asian Museum of Art.
Felt very safe and comfortable. Convenient to trolley line to Fisherman's Wharf and a BART Station.