Ratings based on 7,794 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tampa, fl

Old & dated

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Unless you got a deal on the room, I'd spend a little extra and get something better and newer. The rooms were old, dirty, and dated. The service was questionable and the price was high for what you got, even in San Francisco. There were many homeless outside which is unfortunate for SF, but there are other parts of town where you can stay wo having to step over them getting into your hotel. A solid 2 stars
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very small and dated hotel!!!

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Very small room, no microwave, no percolator, bathroom door had no locks on it, no shower curtain, extremely noisy , terrible condition and overpriced!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but hotel in need of an update

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Very comfortable beds but rooms in need of renovation. No wifi despite otherwise advertised . Bathroom had flies
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel neighborhood not so nice

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Hotel is nicely run with an historic feel
Cons: check in long line only one clerk / front desk does not answer phone
Location: Close enough to the places you want to see, but in a challenged neighborhood - that was the sole drawback
Loved the hotel, did not like the surrounding blocks. While it likely was safe enough, we did not feel that safe walking around the neighborhood
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Nevada

it was close to our final destination, Lighthouse

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: felt like an old time movie
Cons: the paid reservation was lost at first which was a little heart failure, but the steadfast manager and clerk got it figured out.
Location: Sam's had awesome ice cream. Took a class at lighthouse for the blind and learned all about the new ORCam which can be affixed to glasses and can read
good restaurant's abound on site and off. Nice bar, beautiful really. close to things downtown like lighthouse for the blind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful hotel, walking distance to theater

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Beautiful historic hotel! Clean and comfortable and friendly staff. My only complaint is that the room could use more lighting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london uk

has cockroaches!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
I recently stayed at the Hotel Whitcomb in San Francisco. I sincerely believe my partner and I were discounted against because we Expedia to book the room. When we arrived, the man booking us in said he could clearly see we had booked in via Expedia and that we were paying a discounted rate for the room. When we got to the room we were really disappointed with the standard, there was paint chipping off the walls, and wires all over the floor and the bed looked like it had been sat on! We went downstairs and requested to move rooms, we said it was low quality and the bathroom door did not lock. They said we were not going to move our rooms, and someone will fix the door for us. Despite our request for a different room being denied we continued to stay for a few more nights, until we found a cockroach in our room!!! We rang the front desk, they said someone will be up to change our room. They moved us to a different room on a different floor, the room, although being generally low quality, was considerably cleaner, a better standard of room, although when we asked we were told they cost the same amount of money. The new room was newer, there were guides to the city on the table, the bathroom was a normal size, and the bed had new modern linen. We checked out early due to the cockroaches. The hotel entrance is dated but fine, the corridoors and rooms are creepy, old, filthy and I would absolutely not recommend anyone to stay here!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No WIFI

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Staff
Location: Not much unless you drive
Hotel refused to give us another room when our room had no WIFI, and they were very rude about it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Worse Hotel I have ever stayed

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone bad service. AC didn't work the towels smelled. The bathroom are so small you can very move in there. For the price it's not worth it the rooms are so tiny.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good pick in San Francisco for the money

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Very close to transport
Cons: Needs some maintenance.
Location: Short walk to many attractions. Muni and BART can get you anywhere quickly.
Very close to transport. BART directly outside entrance. Trams and trollies within a block. Hotel is located in a transitional area and we did not want to walk back to the hotel after dark so transport was a must. Hotel itself is ok for the price paid. Our room had an A/C unit that cycled loudly off and on every 20 mins or so. We finally turned it off at night to get some rest. Make sure you don't get a room near the service corridor/road. The trucks start running around 5:30 am and if you aren't a sound sleeper it will wake you. Our hair dryer broke and it took two calls to get it fixed,but it was repaired. Hotel is old classic. Beautiful entry. Reminds of of old Hollywood glamour.