Ratings based on 1,937 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent 3 nights stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Hotel room was modern and clean. Lobby area & guest area were tastefully designed.
Cons: Better ventilation in the bathroom.
Location: Walking proximity to Union Square and shopping area, other major tourist attractions are within 20-30 mins walk or easy access to Bart and bus stops
Booked 3 nights and it was one of my best stay in SF. Arrived on Bart from SFO to Powell Station. Approx. 3-5 minutes walk from the station depending how many luggages you have and familiarity with the area. Hotel was modern and clean. There's a few guest items you can inquire and loan it for the day, bike to instant cameras etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AU

Centrally located boutique hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: We liked the boutique style and feel of the hotel, and the staff were great.
Cons: The beds were quite firm and squeaked, and the morning complimentary tea and coffee needs refilling more frequently. Rooms were still a bit noisy
Location: Based on the cusp of Union Square/SoMa areas which is very central for exploring different areas of the city.
We were happy with our stay at Hotel Zelos, and it met our expectations. We got a small upgrade to a higher room which was great to help manage the noise. Overall, the staff were very friendly, and helpful so were very happy with this and the location was good if you are looking for a base in the central city. The complimentary tea and coffee is a great idea, but on 3 of the 4 mornings we went down (at different times) this had run out, which was a bit annoying as this is in lieu of hot drink facilities in your room. We also got worken up by our neighbours arriving back on Saturday morning, so just be aware that you can hear a bit from the corridors etc from your room. A good solid base in the city, but some of the comfort aspects weren't quite there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location is amazing.
Cons: Let me decide on how hot/cold I want my room. Don't make me ask to unlock the fridge when u charge a deposit of 100$/night. Make rooms soundproof.
Location: San Francisco features a lot of things to do and the central location of hotel lets you do everything easily.
- Location is great. - Rooms look dated even though there are recently renewed items like chairs and iphone players. - The A/C was working but the unit on the wall didn't control the room temperature or anything, which is pretty messed up. So A/C was working on its own with no control what-so-ever. - Considering I made my reservations like a month ago, you would expect them to have the two rooms on the same floor. That wasn't the case. - They charge a deposit for every night which is about 100$ per night, so if you stay 3 days, that's another 300$ hold on the credit card, which is really something I have never seen before. I understand deposits and have seen them but not per night. - The cabinet that holds the fridge was locked, I had to ask them to unlock and they told me they weren't able to find the keys. After paying 100$ per night as deposits, that's just so lame. - The hotel bar is pretty neat and that comes with being loud. So expect not to sleep well, and excuse me but you are a hotel. Your first priority is to keep people happy in their rooms. - People and staff were good and helpful and at the end they were going through the rules set up by the administration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Billings, MT

Great boutique hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We only stayed one night but would go back again. Friendly staff greeted us at arrival. We were able to check in early. Room was clean and comfortable. Free internet. Good coffee served in the morning. The location was killer. Right off market and within walking distance of most all the local attractions. I couldn't have asked for a better place. I remember reading some negative reviews when I booked and all I can say is these people must have had an unusual experience. This hotel is a great find.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Okay, would not stay again

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The hotel staff seemed overwhelmed when we arrived and there wasn't anyone to valet our car for over 15 minutes. The hotel bar was not open on Labor Day weekend and the room wasn't anything special. Smelled slightly musty but was okay once we turned the air conditioner on for a few hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central and nice

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: position, centrality, clean
Cons: wifi quality
Location: go to the city beer store (1168 Folsom St)
Hotel Zelos is close to many points of interest in San Francisco. However it's also close to a more weird neighborhood (south of Market Street) but we didn't have any problem. The room was clean. But we need to say that the wi-fi was terrible. It did not work well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Hotel is quite minimalistic but comfortable and clean. The rooms are large, there's a nice bath and the bed is huge! Good location, with everything in walking distance and some nice restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great location and staff

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location
My husband and I were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Zelos. It's close to everything on the square and the staff was very accommodating. Due to Hurricane Harvey, we were unable to fly out on our scheduled date. The hotel extended our stay and honored the current rate on the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

Nice hotel close to Westfield Mall.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Totally enjoyed this hotel because of its cleanliness and location. Could have been a 5 star hotel if the Asian guy at the front desk had less of an attitude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
It was a great hotel, very nice and clean. Located right in the center of San Francisco, close to all the stores for shopping. Will come back again!