Ratings based on 3,464 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WE WOKE UP COVERED IN BED BUG BITES.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The hotel is beautiful but my daughter and I both woke up covered in bed bug bites and despite sending photos to the hotel staff and reporting this immediately, the hotel refused to acknowledge the problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The Palace Hotel truly is a beautiful hotel and I can thoroughly recommend staying here. You'll be impressed from the moment you enter the hotel's lobby to the moment you checkout. The rooms are very comfortable and are very tastefully appointed. The staff are also very polite, friendly and helpful. Would I stay here if visiting San Francisco again? Absolutely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel in the heat of downtown

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Clean room, nice staff, good locations, morning coffee.
Cons: Larger jacuzzi is needed.
Location: Right in the heart of financial district, which is in the downtown core.
A very nice and classic seeming hotel, with modern and clean rooms. The staff were all very helpful, and the coffee served each morning was quite good. Overall, a very nice experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Beautiful Hotel and Great Location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The Palace is a beautiful hotel with great staff. The location is conveniently located and we were able to access all parts of the city easily. We plan to stay at the Palace again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC

Top shelf Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Location: Walking distance <1 mile to wharves
Wonderful classic hotel. Experienced staff. Great location. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Excellent hotel and location.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Absolute excellence all around. My only complaint is that the pool closes at 10:00 pm. I have stayed there 3 times and unfortunately the drive gets me at the hotel around 9:45pm and/or we arrive after a Giants game close to 10:00pm and it is too late for pool/hot tub. After a long drive there I am dying to get in the hot tub to relax my back and I miss the opportunity by minutes every time. Why can't it be open until 11:00pm?????
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience ever

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Our stay at the Palace hotel was pretty important to myself and my new wife as we were on our honeymoon. Our stay in San Francisco was the last leg of our holiday. Unfortunately, we were hugely disappointed in our room. The hotel is described as part of the luxury collection, but while the central lobby areas look fantastic, our room fell quite below our expectations. It felt much closer to a Holiday Inn which is fine, but simply does not justify the room rate. Firstly, there was a bellman at the door who didn't offer to take our bags to our room. When we entered our room, the bed was shabbily made and had lumps in it. We found the toilet to be filthy, which we had to clean ourselves. The room had a window with no view and every surface of the dated interior was dirty. When Expedia called the Front desk, they were told that we will be charged a penalty of $407.17 (charge for an additional day) for early checkout. It almost felt like Hotel California! We had to stay with Expedia for one and half hours on the phone (until 1:30 am) to finally checkout of the Palace hotel and find another hotel for the remaining part of our stay in SFO. My wife and I are both seasoned travelers and unfortunately our stay at the Palace Hotel has categorically been the worst hotel experience that we have ever experienced. It couldn't have been more badly timed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Nice hotel in Union Square

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel is very nice and in a good location. Rooms are clean, staff is really nice. It's truly a luxury hotel, one of the nicest we stayed at. They offered us a room upgrade at no cost, and we had a an excellent view from the upper floor. Definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Magnificent architecture with warm staff, comfy rooms and beautiful pool. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping and the pier

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Four day stay in the Bay Area. Create hotel , helpful staff and great food