Ratings based on 3,506 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Close to everything!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The lobby was very elegant and fancy and the amenities in the room are almost complete (no tootbrush, however) but I do find that majority of western hotels doesn’t have complimentary toothbrush. My biggest complain would be the staffs. I called a day before my trip to ask for questions regarding check in and the lady then the man (she connected me to him after inquiring) I spoke to from guest reservations was rude. Regardless of any inquiries, how they answered me was unprofessional. Also because I put the “privacy” sign in our door we missed the housekeeping schedule (we were aware but we my partner and I didn’t wanted to be disturbed) I called the front desk to ask if they can re-clean our room. I wish I got the lady’s name because she was also rude eventhough I asked politely. It was ridiculous how she answered me with “well they clean more than 14 rooms per day” when all I asked was “do they have a specific time that they usually come? And is it possible for them to come and clean after we leave?” I think she was Filipino basing on her accent. I appreciated the housekeeping team the most because everytime they see us walked by we were greeted pleasantly. They forgot to replenish 1 shampoo though but I can forgive that. The bed was really comfy and soft though. They provided a lot of towels which we appreciated. The washroom was a bit on the smaller side and not much closets in the room. Facilities was awesome BUT please train your staffs properly. It’s a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Wonderful hotel in a great location! By far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Great service, spotless rooms, and terrific dining choices - all in a truly beautiful building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Fantastic experience

Posted Oct 9, 2017
This hotel was amazing. I had stayed in San Fran before but nothing compared to this. Total class, spotless rooms. The staff service is unbelievable, they helped us with everything. We had brunch in the main room off the lobby under all the chandeliers and it was a very cool experience. I would 100% recommend staying here when going to San Fran so much character and very easy to travel around the city from this location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Amazing hotel!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Five stars all the way! A group of us spent one night there on our way back to Philadelphia. It is an amazing historic building that is completely restored - the interior is a beautiful mix of classic style and modern. Great staff, luxurious rooms, and a terrific location. If you are going to be in San Francisco, you have to experience the Palace!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Historic hotel in central location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Bathroom - ladies hair in the floor and tub
Location: Central location, shopping, sightseeing--everything you want.
Beautiful historic hotel in central San Francisco. The Garden Court is stunning for breakfast, lunch, dinner or afternoon tea or evening drinks. My experience overall was good. We stayed 2 nights and each night there was an incident: 1st night, police chasing someone into a room/out of room; 2nd night a false fire alarm. Whilst neither was hotel fault, it was a "ding" on the overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Malden, UK

Almost faultless

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Everything - so good we went their twice with a fortnight.
Cons: Coffee-making in the room or free coffee all day in the reception area with fruit-flavoured water - we had this in every other hotel in California
A fabulous hotel - full of heritage features with friendly staff in a central location. Rooms were very comfortable & clean. The Garden Court is really special - it looks amazing & it's a delight to spend time in, whether for breakfast or afternoon tea. Thoroughly enjoyed the Pied Piper bar - had a nice lively vibe, sensible prices (for San Francisco!), decent bar food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa On Canada

Luxury all the way.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The Palace Hotel is a spectacular place to stay and truly feel pampered. We loved the walkable location and friend competent staff. Comfy beds. Well appointed clean bathroom. Knowledgable and accessible concierge. We will continue to refer and recommend with confidence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Overall experience was good but parking was expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma cory

Beautiful stay

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The hotel was fantastic. Food and drinks prices where high for the quality of the food. Could have been better flavor and verity for the cost. Portion sizes were ample. Excellent location with easy walk to most attractions. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel. Staff are excellent and willing to go the extra mile for guests, room was spotlessly clean and the location was convenient for shopping as well as accessing public transport services. The hotel food is very expensive but there are plenty of other options in the nearby area. We were uparaded to free WiFi but this was also very expensive if paying on a daily basis. The pool area was nice but not really necessary when there's so much to do outside.