Ratings based on 3,468 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel. Staff are excellent and willing to go the extra mile for guests, room was spotlessly clean and the location was convenient for shopping as well as accessing public transport services. The hotel food is very expensive but there are plenty of other options in the nearby area. We were uparaded to free WiFi but this was also very expensive if paying on a daily basis. The pool area was nice but not really necessary when there's so much to do outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Wow, wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The staff is incredible
Location: Wonderful location South of Market, convenient to everywhere but far enough from Union Square to avoid the tourist yuck
The palace is beautiful and I cant wait to stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Extremely friendly staff and love the atrium.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The view from the corner suites.
Exceptionally nice place to stay in the hear of San Fran.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Small room, over priced ,no amenities, wifi charge

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Very disappointed with this hotel and it was the second time we checked in that week. We were going to cancel our second half of our stay here because we were so disappointed in our initial stay but we're promised that upon arrival later that week when checking in , we would have received a better room... we did not! In fact we received almost a hostile consierge who gave us such a hassle because the gentleman who checked us out never put the upgrade not in the system and instead of trying to help us made it much for difficult at midnight. Additionally, they charge $60 for parking (if you driver around the block parking is $24 ) crazy surcharge. Once getting settled into our shockingly tiny room, I got bitten by sometype of bug (NOT bed bug to be clear). Additionally, they had the nerve to charge wi-fi fees ! Who charges wi-fi fees anymore, and of all places in San Fransisco in a so called 5 star hotel. We paid a lot of money for a tiny room (over $600 for just 2 night! You expect better treatment). There are literally no amenities in this hotel as well. I would not recommend his hotel to anyone under 40, its stuffy and pretentious and the grief we got checking on our second time by the consierge was eneough to solidify that we will not be coming back here. Also their famous Pipe Piper bar closes at 12:30 on Friday's & Saturdays , there were over 25 of us in there that got turned away. Now how does that make sense? Like I said disappointing over all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great hotel and amazing lobby!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Healthier brunch food choices.
Location: convenient location
Enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Palace Hotel. Service was amazing and the rooms are quiet and comfortable. I liked the live jazz on Sunday afternoon in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Valet staff were all professionals and very helpful. Checkin was a breeze. Hotel was amazing coming in seeing that awesome ceiling! Free bottled water for taking out walking around market and union. Location is close to shopping and cable cars. Definitely a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Short yet sweet!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We were in town for a friend's retirement party and stayed 1 night. The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, and the staff eager to serve. The location is perfect too. Close to all the things you want to see while in SF. The lobby/lounge area is bright and extremely comfy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappment all around... buyer beware!!!!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Tiny room, bitten by spider or some kind of bug while sleeping, no amenities... had inconsistencies in room, we stayed there twice in one week (checked in and out 2 times) was not going to stay for the second leg of our trip but due to us not being happy the first time staying there, they the promised us an upgrade that never happened. Plus we didn't get robes or slipper and extra towels in our first room. Also they charge for wi-fi!!! Who charges for wi-fi when rooms are so expensive already ... we travel a lot and we're shocked for such a "high style" hotel it lacked ANY amenities, not even a coffee machine in the room! I would not recommend this hotel for anyone under 40, its antiquated and living on its former reputation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Beautiful hotel located close to ballpark.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, spacious, close to ballpark, valet parking till 6pm the day of check-out (great if you are going to ballgame)
Cons: Wait during check-in, hot tub not working at pool, homeless close to hotel.
Discounted rate on beautiful hotel located close to ballpark and restaurants. Glass palace ceilings are really beautiful here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta

Downtown luxury at good value

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Grandeur says it all.
Cons: The city needs to be more supportive to the street people in the downtown core.
Location: Access to transit in front of the hotel made it easy to see the sights. We walked to AT&T Park to watch the Giants! It was great.
The balance between value and comfort is always a challenge to travellers. Even though the Palace was more money than we normally budget for accommodations, it was well worth it. Downtown convenience in a well appointed hotel. The recent refurbishing maintained the grandeur of the place while modernizing the rooms.