Ratings based on 4,351 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Large modern hotel located centrally

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Large well equipped room and if you needed anything extra staff were able to provide it. Front desk staff were particularly helpful.
Cons: Very small complaint that we don't like paper coffee cups and would prefer ceramic mugs to be available without needing to ask room service.
Location: Just off Market street so well placed for shops, tours and all central attractions
Very efficient hotel where everything worked and staff were helpful. An easy walk to Union Square and most major stores and also near cable car terminus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay, Decent Service

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Too long a wait to check in with so many staff working at 8 pm Sunday night. Place was not that busy and 5 people on line waiting to check in. Not a big deal but unnecessary. Also, restaurant staff terrible at breakfast. No service at my table.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bustling hotel in central location

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great location. Staff was very pleasant and eager to please us by moving our room to a higher floor for the same rate. Lobby was busy but room was quiet. Overall great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Great location and clean/comfortable. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Extraordinary

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, property, amenities, upgrades
Cons: N/A
Location: Infinite number of things to do in the area.
My son and I were down there for the Niner vs. Panthers game for the weekend. The hotel and staff are phenomenal. Really made our time there enjoyable. Will definitely return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by sfodt, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to spend your father and son weekend with us, Daniel. We are thrilled the two of you had an "extraordinary" time enjoying everything the Marquis and the city have to offer. We appreciate your rave review and look forward to welcoming you and your son back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, good location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The location is great, as it is right near transit, and close to lots of restaurants and stores. The concierge is also great when you need to maps or directions, or tips on how to get somewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by sfodt, Hotel Management
We appreciate your glowing review, Melissa! It was a delight to learn our dedicated team was able to make your stay such a great experience. Thank you for sharing and do come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Nice hotel with great location. Rooms are nice but nothing extravagant
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by SFODT, Hotel Management
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Marriott Marquis. Come back soon to the City by the Bay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from livermore ca

Affordable, close to shopping, dining.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Check in was a breeze. Room was a good size for one night. Room had a odor, not a fresh smell. Night time was very noisy. You can hear the next room guest. Otherwise location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by SFODT, Hotel Management
Thank your for the time you have taken to share your experience. It was a delight to learn you found our location to convenient. We always encourage guests to contact us if there is an issue in their guestroom, as we would be happy to find a fresh room. Your comments will be shared with our Director of Services. We do hope to welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from College Station, TX

nice hotel, close to city center

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: location, staff, breakfast
Location: street walking, attending a wedding at Julia Morgan
I enjoyed staying at SF Marriott. everything was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by SFODT, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your lovely review of the Marriott Marquis, Ali. We are thrilled to know all aspects of your time with us exceeded your expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to the City by the Bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta, canada

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Great staff. Nice location. Would definitely stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by SFODT, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review, Shawn. We are delighted our team and location made for a memorable stay. It would definitely be our pleasure to welcome you back.