Ratings based on 3,834 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay and fabulous location.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: The location of the hotel.
Cons: My request for late check out was not accommodated.
We had a wonderful stay and the hotel's location was fabulous. Lots of places to eat and shopping within walking distance from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

INCREDIBLE HEART OF THE CITY

Posted Jan 16, 2018
The Staff, location, views, and stay at The Marriott Marquis San Francisco was the most incredible stay I’ve experienced in California. Located right in the middle of the city accessible to all locations in the city. 5/5
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok.....

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Everything is great. But, the room is awful. There was paper from the previous guests. Still garbage from the previous guest. At least the beds are made. Just not what I expect from a hotel room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Here for a big dance competition. The staff was great and handled the big crowd gracefully and happily. Not a single hiccup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

enjoyed Marquis - elevator, restaurant service ...

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Enjoy our stay every time we are here. This last time, Valet parking though has gotten very expensive. The elevators also are an issue the length of time you have to wait for one is disappointing. We also tried to eat in Lobby restaurant, clearly understaffed and didn’t get a server for 15 mins so we left. We love the hotel and hopefully it will work on these issues and get back 5 stars from me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Beautiful hotel, great staff!

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Nice facilities, close to union square.
Stayed at the Marriot for new years eve. They had great staff and service during this busy time, upgraded security and great facilities overall -- plus they had information about what to do for new years and how to get to the fireworks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier, California

It’s where you want to be!

Posted Jan 7, 2018
I’m definitely coming back here! Staff absolutely excellent, this hotel is in the middle of all shopping and restaurants are within walking distance, not to mention the one that is inside the hotel itself. This is where you want to be, trust me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doylestown, PA

Good location

Posted Jan 6, 2018
City transportation was very confusing. There are many different bus lines, and we never received detailed information from the concierge. All we got were maps which were highlighted and marked up by the staff. We ended up relying on lyft a lot. Besides the concierge, the room was clean and the restaurant had a great menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Perfect!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Super nice hotel. We loved everything about our experience from valet service, to check in process, to the nice room and comfortable beds. Thank you Expedia for a luxury hotel for a fraction of the price it could have been to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Perfect San Francisco Location

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Location, fitness facility, staff was very friendly.
Location: In the heart of Embarcadero. Convenient to downtown, BART, restaurants, streetcars.
Since our flight arrived quite early in the morning, I figured we would check our bags at the hotel and then go out and sight-see. When I asked the Bell Stand attendant about checking our bags he told me to check with Front Desk to see if the room might in fact be ready. The clerk working the front desk was very nice and said she thought she could find a room available within the next hour and would text us when ready. Well, before we even made it back to the Bell Stand to check our baggage, we received the text alerting us to the room so we checked-in at approximately 9:30 a.m. which was extremely convenient for us.