Ratings based on 2,496 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

Close to Everything

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located
Cons: parking could be a lot less expensive
Location: Close to everything
Comfortable and quiet lodging at a reasonable price and close to everything San Franciscan
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pictures make this hotel look a lot nicer than it is
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Old, disgusting, and bed bugs

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Cons: Hotel needs major renovations. Get rid of the bed bugs. Upgrade the plumbing.
As your fellow citizen, it would be a disservice to society for me to recommend this hotel to ANYONE. This hotel is in a good location, but don't let that fool you. It's old, disgusting, and has bed bugs. Upon walking into my room, I caught a huge whiff of musky damp air. Literally smelled like the shower had been on for 10 years with all the doors closed. Looking around more, I noticed that paint has been lathered on the walls, to the point where the doors get stuck on the doorsill because the paint is so thick. The closet door wouldn't even close. Same thing with the bathroom door. Also, there were a bunch of random marks/scuffs all over the walls and trim. The AC unit is old and smells when it's on. Behind the TV/desk/etc there was a bunch of trash and coffee dried on the wall. When I went to take a shower, it took literally 10-15 minutes for the water to get hot. I'm not exaggerating. THE WORST PART is I woke up the next morning covered in BED BUG bites. I looked under the bed and noticed how dirty it was under there, and just around the bed in general. Keep in mind if you are staying here, there are bugs waiting to feast on you while you sleep. If you are into the TV Show "Hotel Hell," then this is a great hotel for you to stay at! You can experience a real haunted house, and Halloween is right around the corner. Also, if you're on a business trip, forget it! The WiFi is so slow you can't do anything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu,Hawaii

It was in a good location next to a mall.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: It was in a good location.
Cons: Bathroom needs to be upgraded.
Location: Excellent eating places and places to shop.
Easy access to my work that needed to be done. Many eating places.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Hotel is not worth a dime. Bathroom is too small everything is too old and dated. Spend money somewhere better
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pickwick Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Old charm.
Cons: A real lobby with a bar and seating area, restroom that are unlocked, etc. Kind of obvious. They could use some electrical outlets in the rooms.
Location: near Union Square. Central location off Mission and Fifth.
Just an overnight stay. Went there for business. Was looking for a place near to my business destination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Older hotel but clean and comfortable. Only a couple blocks from Market street. Easy to get to all the sites in SF from this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Rooms were dirty. Bed comforter was stained. The walls are so thin, you can literally hear everything. Staff was not too pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno Nevada

Great location but terrible room

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The room was in a state of disrepair. The paint was peeling off of the wall in spots. There were small holes on the floor by the base boards. In various spots, wood from the baseboard was physically worn off. The room was in the 4th floor facing the street, the noise from the street level was very bad. When I first arrived in the room the window wasn’t completely latched, that even took a little effort. I spoke to the front desk about the issues shortly after checking in. I was told sadly that “most rooms are in serious need of refurbishment.” I was also told as far as the noise goes, I should consider myself lucky I wasn’t on the 1st thru 3rd floors because it was worse. He also indicated it wasn’t worth moving to the back of the hotel, that ‘more people complain about listening to the mechanicals of the building then they sue about the traffic.”
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Russia

Very centrally located and well connected

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location
Cons: Some renovation would not harm
Location: Some very interesing art galleries are located nereby
A deposit of USD 50 for accidents is frozen on the account when checking in. This deposit was released 7 bank days after checking out.