Ratings based on 2,472 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin

Horriable. Out of date!!! Rude staff!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Horriable. Out of date!!! Rude staff! Dirty. Very VERY dirty!! The bathroom was nearly unbearable. I felt dirty the entire time I was there. The staff was extremely rude.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
My experience was not good. The room was to small and it's not how it appears it the website.The matres was very old and uncomfortable the bathroom was to small and not clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Convenient Location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I selected this Hotel by considering it's location on the map. It's just a block away from Market Street which is the "main drag" of the city. Close to many Public Transportation connection areas. Close to the start point of a major Cable Car system. Close to many stores. The whole hotel is O.K. but a bit past it's prime, so to speak. The rooms had a very good supply of Drawers for the clothes and also an adequately sized Wardrobe. The Bathroom was fully functional but in the early morning hours (around 6:00a.m.) the water had to be run (read Wasted) for a full five minutes before it was hot enough for showering. Other than that everything was O.K. and it had an adequate supply of towels etc. The Bed was very comfortable and one had a choice of soft or firm pillows. Great, thanks. The 33 channel T.V. worked well but the channels were boring. The Air Conditioner worked very efficiently and was quiet. There was a Room Safe, much appreciated! Also a Refrigerator which came in useful for storing Fruits and Drinks. The room had a Writing Desk which I used every day. The Hotel has a small but adequate Exercise Room. There are a couple of Computers for guest use and I really appreciated them as I could check my e-mail daily. I would say that the room charge was a bit on the high side but considering the convenience of the location I will certainly keep this on my list of future bookings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Central to San Francisco but in tired condition

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Nice location to central San Francisco. (Only a few hundred metres from Powell Street station and historical cable cars)
Cons: This place desperately needs an entire refresh.
Location: See prior comments
In a nice location to transport and eateries and shops. The hotel staff were friendly enough but room cleanliness is barely OK. (Don't look under the beds / desk etc if you don't want to see dirt / dust.) The hotel itself is tired. Paint peeling on the ceiling, creaking pipes in the walls, water in the shower that just entirely switched off for a few seconds multiple times during taking a wash. It wasn't horrible but it was far from being great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not enjoy this hotel.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Can't think of a thing.
Cons: Clean walls and new carpet.
Rooms were in need of fresh paint or good washing. Bedding was nice but overall feel of room was not good. Would definitely not recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
location was sooo good but hotel room has some kind of old building smell unpleasant. l better try different hotel next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to Union Square and Trolley

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Cons: The speed of the elevator
A quaint hotel with newly remodeled rooms. Close to Union Square, shopping, and trolley
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Classy hotel from earlier era . Definitely a good place to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs CA

no secure wi-fi

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: secure WiFI
cost me $110 to repair my computer from getting infected by using the hotel wi-fi I would expect this to occur in a small out of the way town,but San Francisco??
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Decent price, decent location

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Staff is polite and attentive. The location was convenient. The rooms are comfortable and clean.
Location: There are several good dining options nearby. Try Little Delhi (on Eddy, I think) and Box Kitchen. Mo'z Cafe has good food. Great shopping nearby.
The Pickwick is an older hotel (1920's) that's been updated nicely. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed, if a bit small compared to other hotels. But this is San Francisco where space is at a premium, so small is to be expected. The location is great for shopping. There's a huge mall on the same block and lots of shops within walking distance. But it's also a noisy location. There are a lot of sirens (fire and police) going by all the time, although it seems to die down around 10 or 11pm. Even from the top floor you can hear the sirens quite loudly, as well as the assorted homeless people shouting on the street at times. Since the Pickwick is located at an intersection, you can also hear when SF drivers are annoyed with each other - lots of horns honking at each other. But, like I said, it dies down by 10 or 11pm. If you need to go to sleep early though it might be annoying. I've stayed here twice for work. So I guess it says something that I purposefully choice The Pickwick for my second visit. All in all, it's a decent hotel, with great staff. If price is your main concern (without ending up in a dive or unsafe neighborhood), then the Pickwick is for you.