Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Corpus Christi, TX, USA

Can't go wrong for the price !

Posted Jul 25, 2012
Pros: The swimming pool and the customer service.
Cons: The mattress needs to be replaced.
Location: close to everything.
Everything went well, room was very clean, beds not very comfortable, but clean bright rooms, pool was clean and well maintained. Hotel lobby was clean comfortable and front desk staff was helpful and very accomadating . Close proximity to beach and shops. For the price you really cant go wrong.
2 out of 5
by Rosemarie from Columbia SC & Fort Worth TX

Needs care and cheer!

Posted Feb 19, 2012
Pros: The room has a sitting area with a comfy sofa for two (or three little ones). It has a back door that opens on the deck and pool - very beautiful!
Cons: The combination of the smelly carpet and the bumpy beds made it a less than agreeable stay.
Location: The location is excellent, a few blocks from the beach.
The white ceiling fan was loaded with black dirt - right above our beds and heads. There were yellow stains in grout at base of toilet. The carpet smelled like mildew - needs good cleaning and airing. We arrived for the last 45 minutes of breakfast and while we eventually got what we requested we had to ask for waffle mix, syrup, coffee...pretty much our whole breakfast. Our server had a sour attitude, as if we were a burden, and only brought things as we asked; he did not make an effort to anticipate our needs. There are other hotels with smaller rooms and lower prices with cleaner rooms and better service. We could easily feel the springs in the matress - not a comfortable place to sleep. Have a talk with your cleaning staff, hire someone cheerful in the breakfast area, and invest a little in comfortable beds and you should be competetive with other hotels. The exterior is beautifully planted and maintained - very charming!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Experience

Posted Jan 2, 2012
Great price and location near the beach, shopping and entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Harlingen, TX

For the money, not bad.

Posted Sep 13, 2011
Don't expect 4 star anything, but you're not paying for it either. Location is on the Island's main drag, but far enough north of busy end of Island that traffic and late-night reveling are not bad at all. It's a hike to the beach, but, hey, you're not paying Hilton prices.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El paso texas

Absolutely horroble . Too expensive for this dirty place

Posted Aug 16, 2011
The first room was absolutely dirty and there was mold and it was smelling moldy . The coffee was never hot not even for breakfast. The pool we couldn't use because it was overcrowded and some guest thought the hot tub was a washing machine because they wash their clothes in t with washing powder. Never again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McAllen, TX

Juan

Posted Aug 1, 2011
Overall not a bad hotel. There were only 2 issue that were real unprofessional. We stayed 2 nights and had to come back from a day at the beach to a dirty room. It was 5pm and our room had not been cleaned yet. When I brought it up to housekeeping they stated that new reservations where priority first then existing. The second was that i was having breakfast with my family and it was 10:50am, right at 10:58 they started putting everything away. My wife was making a waffel and they put up the syrup and butter. They also put away the milk for the coffee. Very rushed and unprofessional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Tx

don't waste your money there,not worth it.

Posted Jul 20, 2011
We got to the room and was not even clean.after waiting for 20 minuted the personnel finally finish cleaning it,the following morning I asked to clean my room and did not clean it until the end of the day, laundry are was super dirty as well as the kitchen.,the pool are so crowded ,rooms over crowded .(I noticed at list one roon with two families in there).Defently my money was wasted.The City is beutiful it was a great experience,too bad a can't said the same thing about the hotel.They defetnaly need more staff,the was only a couple of ladys doing the entire housekeping.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harlingen, Texas

OMG just plain BAD

Posted Jun 14, 2011
All bad nothing I can say good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Harlingen, TX

Ok, but not awesome

Posted Jun 13, 2011
This hotel was consistent with others at SPI. Mediocre room for the price. Hotel was on a channel that goes out to the bay. Boat docks were ok, but not great. Large step down from the dock to the boat. Be very careful with small children, as there are only ropes on the sides. No boat launch, must go to Parrot Eyes a short distance away and pay to launch. Trailer parking is also limited. We paid at Parrot Eyes to store the trailer as well. Room had 2 queen beds, with old linens. Small refrigerator and microwave. Small couch with sleeper as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Wonderful First TIme Visit

Posted Mar 29, 2011
Enjoy the trip and room was great