Ratings based on 3,424 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weslaco Texas

Close to beach.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Will go again. Would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Great complimentary breakfast. Very clean and well maintained. Good sized rooms with high ceilings. Wonderful staff. Great location.
Cons: Only one small dresser for clothing. Need more drawer space. Could use more lounge chairs in pool area. Patios are very narrow.
One week stay. Getaway winter vacation. First time at SPI. Rented oceanfront room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Wonderful stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017
It was a great stay wonderful experience. Really friendly environment and lots of accommodating things really nice staff with great friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel and staff were wonderful.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Nearly everything was wonderful
Location: There were hotels every other building and extras included fishing and dolphin watching. The beach was great as well as the temperature.
The problem with this stay was the group called Hotel.com and Expedia. They screwed the reservation up as best that they could. Wrong day, wrong amount of days, and while attempting to correct, the hotel ran out of rooms. In addition the add ask if I wanted to pay now or at the hotel. I marked at the hotel yet when checking in was told that it was prepaid. What more could they have done for me. Ended up costing me about $30. per day more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

A great location, at least.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Mixed feelings about this place. At face value, it looked like a good deal to stay here, especially with a discount. Wrong. $50 taxes and fees for two nights. Is that some sort of resort fee? A cost for breakfast? I never found out since it wasn't disclosed on any receipt. Starting from the outside in... The parking lot is long, but narrow. If you arrive early, you can get close parking, otherwise expect to have a bit of a walk. The location is literally right over the causeway from mainland, so it's easy to get to. The hotel is beachfront, as the walk is only a few hundred feet to the water. Once inside, the hallways are a bit stale and musty smelling. The room was clean and quite roomy, however, the balcony door would not open unless it was very forcefully shoved. Breakfast was mediocre. No meat was served, but there was also no fresh fruit (aside from a single apple) at 8:30 a.m. What ever is a vegan supposed to eat? They had tortillas, but no toppings or fillings. Strange. I was required to pay for breakfast, but couldn't even partake in it... The food in the restaurant/bar wasn't much better. I started with a side of nachos, but both the salsa and guacamole were subpar. The salsa was runny and tasteless, probably straight out of a can. The guacamole was mostly onions and tomatoes. I didn't order any food beyond that due to the poor showing of such a simple appetizer. At least the $3.75 happy hour 20 oz. mixed drink made up for it. Room service never
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Good trip. That's all I have to say. Ask again and I won't complete this survey. Thank you. We had a Good Trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff, nice location.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Location to the beach was great.
Location: location and local bus (which was free) made it easy to see the island or go to the main land.
The staff were always asking what they could do for you, with a smile.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south padra tx

Worst ever

Posted Jan 24, 2017
This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in door didn't work tv didn't work phone didn't work smelled like paint overall the place was filthy and we checked out after one horrible night stay. This place should be shut down and condemned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place and great place to let pets on premises

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Nice place. Very good location. Our pet loved the roomy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas tx

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Loved it! This hotel exceeded all expectations. Room was very spacious and the starbucks and convenience store located in the hotel were great. Pool was beautiful