Ratings based on 1,762 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Good place to stay over all staff was wonderful. It was nice and peaceful very close to the beach I will be there next year
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C., Canada

Nice hotel and room.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Our room was clean and spacious, and had a little sitting area.
Cons: The only issue we had was that the light on the sign was out so we missed the hotel when we arrived. Hopefully they've fixed that by now.
Location: It's at the far end of the strip so there's nothing within walking distance, but we didn't mind a short drive to the restaurants, etc.
This hotel was nice, and a great option in the mid-range price point. The room was spacious and clean, and our balcony had a lovely view of the ocean. There was coffee 24/7 in the lobby and a casual restaurant at the back. There is also a nicer restaurant next door at the Hilton if desired. The hotel has a small bar as well, and a nice little sitting area in the lobby. It's at the far end of the strip so there's nothing within walking distance, but we didn't mind a short drive to the restaurants, etc. The staff was very pleasant and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsville, Texas

It was alright

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Too pricey. The only thing i loved was that it was a few steps from the beach and the free breakfast. Front staff (the females) had quite the attitude. I understand it was a busy weekend but it's hospitality, suck it up. Then a gentleman was also rude, too long to type. But with unhappy staff how can guests go back?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Converse Tx

The view from the beach

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The view from the beach was the best out of all the hotels. Really loved the hotel, next time I'll get a room facing the beach though. The view from our room wasn't very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg Mb

South Padre Island very disappointing

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Staff where friendly and tried to accommodate.
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing in South Padre, had to go to Port Isabel & Progresso Mexico for shopping and fun.
I do not like giving bad reviews, but this was just too disappointing. The staff was very nice, there was always someone cleaning in the halls and outside. However the hotel like all of South Padre island is not the tropical paradise I had hoped for. The hotel is in desperate need of updating, the bedding is old ( burn hole in covers), poor internet, the main elevator was broken, the breakfast was terrible, the hotel restaurant/bar closed at 7pm and the food was blah, drinks where served in plastic cups ( even in the "martini bar"). But this is how the whole island is....kind of dirty, kind of run down, abandoned businesses, terrible sidewalks, beach is crammed with hotels ( none of which looked any better than the one we stayed at). In town restaurants we went to kind of dirty, kind of run down. If you want a great gulf coast experience go to Gulfport MS, much much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
I was there for a funeral . Spring breakers coming in . Not a great experience due to clientele . It affected a non vacation stay. SPI is a beach area that CAN be so much more than in is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McAllen, TX

Hotel had a bar inside the lobby area...

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The bar inside & the Omlettes in the morning that are made in front of you! SOOO GOOD
Cons: Chocolate milk for breakfast
Location: Next to Clayton's Beach Bar and beach is right there to go for a walk
My husband and I went to SPI to celebrate his 26th B day and the staff was all males which were all very friendly and ready to help us check in. We went to dinner and after it was bad weather it was raining hard so we were not able to go to Clayton's Beach Bar. We decided to go back to the hotel and as we walked in we saw there was a martini bar and that made our night! The bar tender was very nice and made really delicious drinks! It was a plus that yall had that bar and could take the drinks around the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metairie, La

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Very convenient location right on the beach. The heated swimming pool was trill for our kids considering it was end of February beginning of March. We loved the omelettes made from scratch in the morning at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value right on the beach

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location right on the beach. Great breakfast! Very good price value.
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: You can walk out onto the beach and then up and down the entire coastline. Dolphin viewing boat ride was lots of fun. Many good restaurants near
Husband and I stayed 2 nights on a quick trip to experience South Padre Island. Our room, a king with additional folding couch, was super roomy. The breakfast includes, besides the normal fare, freshly made omelettes - they even made mine with just egg whites. Our room was on the first floor but was quiet. The staff were very helpful. It is right across the road from the bird sanctuary and also the turtle rescue center, so we could walk to these very interesting places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburg

Beach was close and convenient

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Everything was nice and service was also a good experience as well. Last the view through the window was beautiful .