Ratings based on 2,693 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

I love this place !

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I always love staying here . They only thing that bother me this time around was the checking out of pool towels . You have turn them in by midnight but no one is there to pick them up . But if you don't turn them in there is a fee of 10.00 for each towel. So how do show proof that you even turn them in if no one is there to pick them up? I don't want to worried about turning in pool towels on my vacation time. I didn't ask for a pool towel the second day we stayed. I didn't want to go through the hassle of worry about a towel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

2nd year stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The views and the pool with swim up bar is awesome
Cons: Availability for towels at the pool. could use some updates to the furniture and decor
Location: dining is great in San Padre as well as the bars on the beach
The hotel location is awesome and the staff are friendly. However, Our stay last year was better than this year. Our tub clogged twice and they did not have enough towels on Saturday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laredo, tx

Awesome hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Great view, beautiful hotel, friendly staff, you'd be a fool to not go with this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Decent hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Hotel was clean. Pool needed cleaning, and we were bummed that the swim up bar was closed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island WA

High rise disapointment

Posted Mar 7, 2017
One of many unattractive and oversized hotels along this beach it is showing it's age in style and maintainance. The younger staff look bored and need coaching. Cuisine mediocre though the Friday night buffet was very well done. The canned music was also dated and more torture than pleasure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evansville IN

Not a "Pearl"!!!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
No pool bar as shown in pictures, had to ASK to have room cleaned. Never a "set" time for daily housekeeping. Mattress in room was uncomfortable an seemed old. Chairs on balcony in poor/broken condition. We did a pkg with airplane so Im sure thats why we got stuck with room DIRECTLY over the air conditioning units. NO "actual" shuttle from hotel to airport.....as it made it seem!!! RUNDOWN!!! Seemed to be doing renovations in prep for Spring Break crowd!!! Not worth what we paid for pkg!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach. Easy access to hwy.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We checked in at 1:00am because we had missed our flight from SF. Because our room was given to someone else because of our late check-in they gave us a beautiful apartment suite. It made missing our flight worth it! The suite was amazing!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K.C., MO

Great location easy beach access.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Very nice, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Continental breakfast would have been nice.
Location: Osprey dolphin cruise was great on Pier 19.
Beautiful views of the ocean and pools. The pools are beautifully landscaped and well tended. Easy access to everything. Great location, Continental breakfast would have been nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, older hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: That it was close to the beach.
Cons: New lounge furniture, pool service more often. Update room decor and check each room to ensure all is in working order.
Location: Close to shopping, dining and Fun things to do. S Padre Brewing, Black Pearl Pirate Ship is a must with children.
We stayed at The Pearl for my birthday. hotel is old but still on the beach. Room was comfortable and when we discovered the shower didn't work, we reported it and it was fixed. Hot tub was very small and the heated pool was not very clean due the amount of people using it. The staff are always willing to assist you and were friendly. I think for the money, I would book another hotel with the same amenities for a deluxe room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach. Balcony. Restaurant on site.
Cons: Hotel could be updated.
Location: Hotel located on South end of island. Easy access to beach and nearby restaurants.
Very nice hotel right on the beach. Lovely pool. Good location on south end of island. Air conditioner was hard to regulate. Beds were full size and hotel needs to update to queen size.