Ratings based on 903 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Decent hotel, far from the beach

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazing, they were very nice and got things done. They were respectful especially the cleaning crew.
Cons: The breakfast could use a few more options. And the outside could be improved.
Location: Fine for regular vacationers, near a mini golf course, not too far from public access to the beach. But for college breakers a little far away.
We were staying at this Super 8 for spring break. We had two rooms split between 6 people. For college spring breakers the main beach that is used is behind the Isla Grand hotel, that was about 2 miles down the road. Much farther of a walk than we had expected, but once we found out about the free shuttle along Padre Blvd the distance didn't seem too bad because we didn't have to walk or take a cab. The rooms themselves were nice, clean, and the beds were decently comfy. As I stated before, decent hotel far from the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bed sheeting, noise control, bed mattress, breakfast
was charged WAY too much for 1 night. Room was NOT worth it. Maybe worth 80 or 90 bucks since it is in a popular tourist trap area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

No heater

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Me and my family had to move 2 a 3 rooms since the heater didn't work in 2 of them. It was a bad experience as the weather on this day was super extremely cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We stayed two nights, or should I say one and a half. The first night the smoke alarm went off in the room in the middle of the night for no reason. The second night the A/C decided around 1 am it would switch to heat. The heater would not shut off. It blew nothing but HOT air until we could take no more and left at 3 am. Staff was very unconcerned and unapologetic when we called later to tell them. Very disappointing experience. I would never stay here again. It also took them till after 2:30 in the afternoon to clean the room and bring clean towels. We stayed mid December and the hotel had very few guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Close to Beach, good price

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to beach.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Beaches.
Hair all over tub, our bare feet were black. Breakfast waffles not ready at 6:40am according to attendant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Housekeeping missed some things. Breakfast is plain. Otherwise, a nice, comfortable room in a good location. Located on main street. Accessible to many things, or just a leisurely walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
I am sorry to say that I was really disappointed with Super 8. One experience really changed the entire stay. It all started with the chirping smoke detector and the inability to replace the smoke detector and the statement made by the hotel employee that we would have to do without it until the next morning until maintenance personnel would change. I couldn't sleep that night worried for the safety of my family. The next day, my wife and child were napping in the afternoon when a male subject walked into the room, which he had opened with the room key provided by the front desk. I asked the subject why he had opened the door and he said he had been issued the key to the room by the front desk. I immediately contacted the front desk and reported the incident and he said and claimed that not too worry since had been an honest mistake and computer cliche. I am sorry but my wife and child's safety mean a lot to me and there is no room for those mistakes in this type of business. These two incidents really made for an unpleasant stay at Super 8 South Padre Island.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice close to all stores

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The parking was not to good. Rooms r not sound proof. Cheap tv channels. Etc!