Ratings based on 2,279 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Friendly staff

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very attentive staff but remodeling was going on which we would have liked to know about....liked the eco friendliness.....a bit too far from downtown....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Girls weekend

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The hotel service is definately not 4 stars, rooms not ready, would not check in bags while you were gone/waiting, not everly helpful with directions, disorganized. Spa service (massage) was good but upgrades needed to facities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Our stay was good, but less than what it used to be. We were given one of the remodeled rooms, which was not cleaned well, and the blankets for the bed had stains and was thin and cold. Parking was more expensive than it was previously. We've stayed before and it was much more comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Loved the setting, next to Willamette River.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting, very peaceful.
Cons: One of the guests began speaking on her cell phone at 2 AM. Surprised that we could hear her conversation. Wondered if she was near some vent.
Location: Need a car to get around. We opted to use Lyft to go to specific locations. Did walk along trail
Came for our daughter's wedding. Had a couple of choices, other hotels as well as airbnb. My wife spotted your hotel and loved the natural setting. It was peaceful, had a beautiful patio view. We also enjoyed the walking trail along the meandering river. Hotel was convenient, close to both our daughter's apartment as well as her wedding service. My wife and I both enjoyed the beautiful breakfasts at Aqua Riva. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Expensive valet parking undisclosed when booking

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Clean enough rooms, nice staff.
Cons: Disclose valet parking fees. Spruce up the property and rooms.
Location: Location is out of the way, so not much to do directly nearby. Is on the riverbank, so that is nice. Not far to Portland, but must drive.
This hotel itself was ok. It's certainly not luxurious or "upscale" as I believe their site claims, but pretty standard 3-star type hotel (think Residence Inn by Marriott or Holiday Inn). They also do not have much in the way of amenities. There's no pool area and no bar/lounge. I did not get a chance to visit the spa on my short trip, so I can't speak to that in this review. With all that said, the rooms were clean and the staff was genuinely nice. The property around the hotel is also very pretty and near the river. The reason I am giving this 1 star instead of 2.5-3 is the expensive valet parking charge. I have a few issues with this. First, it's very expensive for the area. You could valet park right in the heart of downtown Portland for less. Second, it's really unnecessary for the property. When you give your keys to the valet, he takes your car and parks it 40 feet from you in the lot right out in front of the hotel (the lot, by the way, was obviously built to be a self-parking lot with ample, marked spaces right out in front of the hotel). Third, and most importantly is the fact that the fee wasn't disclosed at the time of booking. I didn't see a fee at all when I booked the hotel. In looking after the fact, I see that Expedia says "Parking: Surcharge" in the misc section of the booking page, but doesn't say anything about the cost or that it's valet only. Similarly, this isn't disclosed on the hotel's own website. Very shady in my opinion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Four Stars? Really?

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location looks good but is poor. There is nothing close by and you need to drive to get anywhere you might want to go.
The reviews were good enough to persuade us that it was worth staying out of central Portland. The reviews were wrong. The hotel has a 1970s feel to the whole thing - and I don't mean that in a good way. Feels very worn. The rooms - we had a suite - feel and look like they have been furnished with furniture from goodwill. All stains, faded fabrics and minimal comfort. Poor abstract art on the walls, overbright lighting in the bathroom, loose door locks, etc, etc. All that plus you are greeted by a gale of chlorine fumes from the adjoining spa when you walk into the lobby. And you HAVE to pay $30 valet charge each night or park your car a mile away and walk back. All in all a very disappointing stay which we will not be repeating. Awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: It had a semi-private balcony on the riverfront! Such a great view!
We had a wonderful experience. My husband and I came here on our wedding night. It was pouring rain, I came into the hotel in this huge wet wedding gown, and they only said positive and helpful things to us. The room was amazing, and we were sad to leave the room that next morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

All in one upscale hotel.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: How to find it.
Location: We used the spa, and walked the path. It was just to relax, a stop on a road trip.
The feel of a upscale hotel, yet small and reasonable price for all, spa is great! Grounds are beautiful. Staff is friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Dated hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
No free parking. Balconies are not very private. Door to balcony was stuck and became unhinged. Poor views, even on river side as trees are in the way. The place is barely ok...barely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poulsbo

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Great staff
Cons: Beds were too soft for me, but overall it was a good value.
Location: Rode our bikes on a nice paved path right outside the hotel and down next to the river for a few miles.
Stayed there on the way home from a short road trip. Staff was great, had a very nice spa where my wife got in last minute on the way out the door after checking out. Good restaurant next door and right on the river.