Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

n/a

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: kitchens
Cons: morning coffee in lobby. Always empty. Always!
spent one week there. morning coffee in lobby was always gone by 0610. they need bigger or more pots.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Bill, thank you for reviewing your stay at Extended Stay America. We're happy you liked your comfortable room with the kitchenette, but we're sorry for the inconvenience you had with the morning coffee. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to having you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaiian Gardens, CA

Nice room with reasonable rates seriously!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Surprisingly quite and only heard a single aircraft once a day (No lie) and this was from 5:00pm to next morning for 5 nights stay.
Cons: Remove hard water deposits from shower head, there wasn't any around the faucets nozzles of the sinks or bath.
Location: Your in the middle from South Lake Tahoe to Reno, and Virginia City.
No complaints really, and I am not a super fussy individual. I will state my opinion when required or as necessary. (NICE really decent place)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Shig, it was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America, and thank you for sharing your review with other travelers. It's great to read you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and service were to your satisfaction. We look forward to sharing your positive feedback with our team. Please visit with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calif.

disappointment

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: a place to sleep thats all
Cons: serve a contintal breakfast as advertised not coffee and snack no milk for the mush
Location: hot august nites was there what else can you say
airport noise was loud breakfast bar not as advertised and a hugh disappointment
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our hotel is designed for guests staying a week or more at a time, who prefer a home-like living experience. So we certainly understand why you may have found our amenities a bit different than traditional hotels. We know how important it is to begin each day with a nutritious start, so all of our hotels offer a complimentary grab and go breakfast, we apologize it was not to your expectations. Our guests which do not have breakfast in their fully equipped kitchen typically find our breakfast bars, muffins, hot cereal, coffee and tea a perfect solution and a value add. It is never our intention to mislead our guests so we apologize for your disappointment. Now that you are a bit more familiar with our hotel and our brand, we hope to be your hotel and brand of choice during your travels. Thank you, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was all phenomenal. Would have liked a better breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you choosing to stay at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows. Every team member here works hard to deliver a great guest experience, so we really appreciate you noticing their efforts. We will share your comment with our Brand Leaders to assist them in determining new breakfast offerings for future implementation. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Room was comfortable did not like barking dogs next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your visit. We are extremely sorry for the noise issue you experienced during your stay. Our front desk is staffed to assist your needs, so we would have been happy to address this issue if you had alerted us. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by Karen

If you are a non smoker do not stay here!!!

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was horrible, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We asked to move the first night because our non-smoking room smelt like smoke, but they were sold out and couldn't move us. The next night it was so bad like someone was blowing a cigarette in my face while I was trying to sleep. I could not subject my family or myself to this any longer, we left in the middle of the night. We went next door to the Residence Marriott, which was wonderful compared to Extended Stay America. Never again will I stay there. We should have known this was going to be awful, when we walked into the room a screw driver was on the counter and there were left over groceries in the cabinets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Karen, I sincerely apologize for our hotel not living up to your expectations. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment and I am sorry if the smoke smell compromised your experience. I have share your concerns with my housekeeping staff and this involves deep cleaning our rooms after a guest leaves a long term stay. We will revisit our deep cleaning program to see where we can make improvements so future guests are not similarly impacted. I hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place in nature

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hostess/owner was genuine, caring, and entertaining. The breakfast was a home made french toast bread pudding the owner picked up the recipe from the food network. SO DELICIOUS!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows. We are thrilled to know you loved the excellent service and the delicious breakfast we offer. We hope to welcome you back soon for an outstanding visit. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Ronald

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
All was good. It met our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to see our hotel was just what you needed. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
nice stay
2 out of 5
by Sundae Orwick from nevada

done stay here unless you have no where else to go

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
when I arrived I expected to find a stocked kitchenette with coffee pot, coffee, cups, silverware, a couple of pans with utensils, et . nothing of the sort was there. had to go to desk to ask for coffee pot, cups, coffee grounds, a spoon, suger and carry themn up myself. decided not to bother the desk again to ask for pan, etc to fix my own meal. there wasn't a luggage rack for my suitcase. the apartment full sized fridge never got cold. a child's glove was found half under a bed maybe from previous occupants. Desk said they had recently been renovated. God help me I was extremely happy I hadn't seen it prior because this was horrid.