Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by HIDEO from JAPAN

便利

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
朝食はキッチンに材料と食器類があるので、セルフクッキングのイメージ。座席が数席しかなく狭いので、調理が終わったら自室へ持参して食べるのがベスト。Wifiは繋がらず残念。すぐ目の前にスーパーマーケット「ASDA」があるので便利。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Karaoke

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and affordable
Cons: Ensuites would be good, or more bathroom facilties
Location: close to foodplaces
Passing through for one night stay. Enjoyed karaoke. people were friendly.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Borders

Mid week visit

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels
Check-in is conducted at the bar , it was friendly and quick. Member of staff takes you up to your room and shows the fire exit route. En-suite room was clean and warm, plenty of hot water, decor very dark. Service in bar friendly, was mid week so quiet for customers. Parking can be awkward before 1800 then street spaces free until 0800. Nice and central so easy to walk out food. Kitchen nice and clean, well stocked with read, milk and cereals. Plenty of dishes and trays available for you to take tea/coffe etc upstairs to spoil your partner. You can cook there or bring in carry-out food. Keys are provided to a side door so you can come and go as you please. Lot of noise in room coming from bar speakers, my type of music and as bar closed at 2300 was not a big issue but would be on a Fri/Sat/Sun when is later closing with a Karaoke, but if you are taking part is not an issue. Happy to book again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short business trip

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for three nights whilst on business in Newcastle. The room was comfortable enough and had a sink in it. The shower and toilet was shared for all of the other rooms. On my first night at the hotel there was a live music night going on in the pub underneath which was very loud and caused everything in my room to shake. The corridor unfortunately smelt of stale beer as well. The room was comfortable enough though and the standard of cleanliness was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Christmas visit to south shields

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Initial impression of the hotel is lovely and bar areas are clean warm and friendly. Upon finding my room I was pleasantly surprised at the comfort and furnishings. Only down side was the self catering breakfast facilities we were met with bread butter and out of date produce in the fridge so decided against eating breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleepless in South Shields

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
This is not a hotel. It's a noisy bar with rooms above it. You can only eat here if you bring it and cook it yourself. The night I stayed there was karaoke in the bar until 1am which meant no sleep for me. In fact the noise was so bad that the crockery in my room was clinking as it vibrated to the downstairs PA bass thumping. The owner refused to refund my room cost so I could leave and find somewhere else. That militant stance means I will never go back. Only use this place if you want to be out your room until the bar closes or you are deaf. The bar staff were friendly but the owner doesn't have any sympathy for guests that need to sleep before getting up early for work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Cross Arms Makes You Cross

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
I was on a business trip and was to get up at 06:45am the next day, to travel to my job. After checking in I was informed that there was going to be Karaoke directly beneath the only room available to me... until 1am!! I explained my dilemma but the (absent) manager insisted I could not have a refund on the day of my stay. I never met the owner. She merely passed on her strict rule via her sympathetic bar staff. I was told that the website warned of weekend noise. Rubbish! I would not have booked the room if that had been made clear. It's sad that the owner preferred to militantly pocket my accommodation money (and make me bitter) rather than understand how unbearably unsuitable the circumstance was for me. She didn't care about me and my needs. So, be warned, there is no chance of customer satisfaction for business travellers at this greedy institution. The Cross Arms Hotel is wrongly named. It should be called the The Cross Customer Karaoke Pub. It's only a boozer with basic rooms above, where the bedside crockery rattles to the bass notes from below. I was made to endure the torture of drunken out of tune wailing for five long hours and that experience means I give this venue zero out of ten. Remember, your opinion will not matter. With the manager of the Cross Arms it's all about taking your money and then telling you to like it...or lump it! Never again...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PRESTON

Not a B&B

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: STAFF TO RUN THE ACTUAL HOTEL AND BREAKFAST AVAILABLE LIKE IT STATES IT ON THE DESCRIPTION.
Location: NOTHING
I STAYED HERE FOR THE WEEK WHILST WORKING AWAY. ON THE DESCRIPTION IT STATES THE HOTEL IS A B&B WITH FULL BREAKFAST INCLUDED, IT WAS A PUB. I WAS TOLD I COULD USE THE KITCHEN TO MAKE MY OWN BREAKFAST AND TEA AND MY ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED ALL WEEK. I ALSO HAD TO PUT UP WITH LOUD MUSIC TILL PAST 11PM.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is essentially a pub with rooms to let above so very noisy on weekends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
Location was fantastic, the room was clean & well presented, had to make your own breakfast, when we got in the kitchen the people who used it before us left a mess, so we went out for breakfast. The staff was friendly and the locals really nice