Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dy

Great position overlooking the beach and river

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Hits the spot for convenience and views and room comfort and quiet - on the 1st floor anyway.
The usual littlehaven experience - comfortable, warm room with its slightly overpowering scent of some sort of cleaning agent to tickle the throat, small room number/morning paper error that didnt really matter but would annoy some, lovely and friendly staff almost without exception, average buffet breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maidstone Kent

Lovely hotel close to town and beach

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Great location
Cons: More light in the car park
Warm, friendly and helpful staff nothing was to much
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anglesey

Little Haven Hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
This is a very good place to stay and the location is also excellent. The wifi in the room I stayed in was minimal. I think if it is required for business use it would become necessary to purchase the alternative that is offered. Breakfast is outstanding
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Interesting stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Good location which was ideal for us by the sea. Could go for a walk along the sea front before breakfast.
Cons: Problems tuning in the to. Initially only one TV channel. Steward retuned and we four channels. After some frustration I did it myself and on third attempt got 144 channels. Too much hassle as if seemed to be a regular issue after talking to cleaning staff. Asked for two fried eggs cooked in butter for breakfast and was told I may have to pay for the butter and the chef would have to ask the manager if he could cook them. It was so silly. Got an apology from the waitress and got the eggs we wanted.
Location: Great location at mouth of the river Tyne. Good for walks, parks,fun fair.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The room, the breakfast staff, and its location. The photograph pictures on display which show the history of the site. I've been coming since 1971 when I met my husband at College. I remember the Caravan Park well. We used to regularly bring my Mum-in-law and our daughters to the restaurant when they were at Newcastle University from 1998 - 2004. Rolf Harris days!
Cons: The only thing was that the wall lights on the desk side of the room could only be on with the central light.
Location: Family live on the Lawe Top so the local history and Roman Fort, Arbeia, are great. The new library is said to be fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Gem of a Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Excellent friendly staff giving a professional service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mandeville, LA

Location, location, location..........

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Great seaside location, verandas front and back. Breakfast selection was good and the evening restaurant is reasonable when it's working.
Cons: Very noisy on social nights, minor niggles noted in description above. Recognized that the 'suite' experience needs a little finesse. Staff training.
Location: Beach front location and easy access into town center (10 mins walk). Countless bars and curry houses within reach.
Stayed here for a week visiting my hometown and relatives. We rented Hadrian penthouse suite and were in general very pleasantly surprised. The suite is spacious with small verandas at front and rear with river and beach views (we were blessed with great October sunshine and made use of them extensively). We were treat well by friendly staff and found the overall experience good. That being said they were some minor niggles that prevent a better rating. Management may consider the following when offering a "suite" experience:- Bed was too low and appeared to be fitted to. A sled frame that needed a box spring not just a mattress on the frame. No refrigerator or microwave in the room. No ice machine No tissue boxes Shower stall too small for fitted shower type, temperature control highly variable. The week had two very noisy and irritating events with very loud Karaoke night on wednesday and a wedding party on Saturday. This a hotel is not laid out or designed well for such events that take over the guest bar and lobby and echo through all the rooms. Staff training should include familiarization with the facility and especially emergency procedures.We had a fire alarm one night and the desk clerk was clueless. Thankfully a false alarm. Despite the niggles this was an enjoyable stay and we will certainly stay again as it is one of Shields better locations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dumfries

Lovely setting with great views

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: All the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. They just could not do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable.
Location: The setting is lovely but only there for one night so don't know much about what there is nearby.
Attended wedding. Everything was first class and all were looked after extremely well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and plenty of free parking! But....

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Convenient location for our trip. good car parking and great breakfast.
Cons: Enough towels in rooms.
Location: Lovely Boardwalk/ seafront location. Fairground close by.
Rooms good size for two adults. No fridge/minibar. But tea and coffee facilities were good. However only one bath and hand towel between two adults is poor. However we would stay again...great breakfast!! Be careful which rooms you get...if you are above the bar area it can be very noisy. Also if you overlook outside seating area - beer garden- it can be noisy til late at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels