Ratings based on 671 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly, breakfast was pretty good
Cons: Maintenance could be improved
Location: Location was in the middle of a field in an industrial area, a bit creepy at night
The room had stained carpet, recently patched drywall that had not been repainted, and a couch with a metal rod sticking out of the side. The refrigerator had a loud humming and clicking that only stopped when unplugged. The hallway smelled like body odor and was quite unpleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great value for the money!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Absolutely best value for the money ... nice big clean room, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, pool, jacuzzi, fitness room, and to top it of, great location if you visit Chicago but want to be on your way out the next day ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was great! Staff was friendly and room was clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff is nice. Room not so much

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Room was dirty. Breakfast was cold. Fitness center is small. Staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay! I'd recommend.

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Overall great stay at Best Western Chicago Southland. A few thoughts from my trip: When we arrived, the hotel smelled like pot. Not placing blame on the front desk worker, because it could have been one of the other residents, but it was pretty potent when walking in and infiltrated the lobby and hallways. I personally didn't have an issue with it, but could see how others would. The room description online didn't say there was a fridge in the king suite, which was a reason that we WEREN'T going to book the room initially. But, we were pleasantly surprised to see one when we arrived. Hotel may want to update that on their site and the affiliates. Housekeeping was a bit noisy in the morning, walking up and down the halls talking to one another. Nothing out of control, just something I noticed. Breakfast was nice in the morning - make your own waffle, toast /bagels, eggs & sausage, coffee & assorted juices, yogurt, fruit. Pool was a bit chilly, and hot tub was not working. So if a big part of your stay is that, I'd check to see if it's functional before you book. The hotel is located in a really quiet area, however, with that makes it feel a little barren. It over looks the freeway (I never heard traffic noise!) and there are no restaurants within walking distance or within sight, so you have to drive to get to anything (they're not far though!) About a 35-40 minute drive to downtown. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and room!
2 out of 5
by Thomas

Never again!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Most everything was below quality. Hair dryer was broke sink broke towel rack broke bed sinks in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Room was dirty and in bad shape. Bathroom tiles didn't have any grout so the floor moved as you walked on it. Entire property had a funky smell to it. Our AC would not cool the room so we had to sweat all night. Kind of a strange and sketchy location. Tucked away in an industrial/warehouse area. Had a guy sitting in the parking lot smoking weed. Pretty sure the two ladies hanging out in front of the hotel where "working girls". We thought it was odd during check in when the desk attendant asked if we planned to use the pool. Later it made sense when we saw about a dozen people go directly from the pool to their cars and leave.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Decent hotel for price with breakfast and Wi-Fi

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
The other reviews that I've seen on hotels.com were fairly accurate. Yes, I saw the stains on the carpeting at work talk to about but they were not characteristic of the whole place. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I have breakfast and the pool we're fine and sufficient. At the time I stayed in this hotel had a 4.0 Star rating from previous customers. I think that's fairly accurate.
2 out of 5
by Mario M

Don't do it!!!!

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Dirty!!!! Smelled bad!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts
4 out of 5
by Lori

Just OK

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff and central to shopping and restaurants. The only real negative was the hallway carpet. It was absolutely filthy! Huge stains everywhere. Hopefully they have scheduled a good cleaning very soon.