Ratings based on 1,240 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Decent hotel with amazing staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Decent hotel and good experience. Found 1 palmetto bug in the bathroom. Didn't really want to use the shower without shower shoes. Wonderful staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WV

Needs new mattress and less fragrance sprayed

Posted Oct 3, 2017
The fragrance sprayed in the room to cover up other smoke smell was hard on sinus and way to strong. Lady at front desk was very nice and I was really tired so just went straight to sleep. The mattress needs replaced to add some comfort. Just an old place need of updating but room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
My experience at this hotel was a good one..the room was clean and comfortable, I ran into a cockaroach here and there but nothing to serious. The location was good and convenient to alot of shopping stores..the staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was OK but it could have better selections and ore hot type food.. But overall I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again at the Howard Johnson...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice front desk staff

Posted Sep 1, 2017
its not a bad hotel for the price,i think every time i travel to tampa i can stay there.few fast food places near the hotel.very nice front desk staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Horrible

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The door didn't close all the way. Shower flooded...drain didn't work. Finally the blow dryer for my wife didn't turn on as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Very nice

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very nice staff clean rooms stayed for business would stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was a short stay. Nice hotel atleast nicer Than the other s
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very clean

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
We checked in after 3:00pm and the room was not ready. The whole place smelled musty and moldy. The floor was very damp. I was afraid to go barefoot in the hotel. The tub leaked really and it didn't look like it had been cleaned very well. Not happy to spend $125 for a dirty room.
2 out of 5
by Thomas

Wouldn't recommend.......

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Check in horrible got only 1 of 2 rooms requested, rude check in staff (had a late check in), don't walk barefooted in room feet will be black, don't stay on week day they raise their rates due to construction crews staying, if you like or need hard beds this is the place for you, the only real plus is the location (which was the reason I chose this hotel)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Bathtub had water running a steady stream all the time. Sink was plugged up.