Ratings based on 832 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2018
Nice room upgrade! very happy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2018
Great location, friendly staff and comfy rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darwin

Posted Jun 8, 2018
Good value for money hotel in good location. Rooms are tired and need upgrading. Couldn’t open windows and has no balcony so was a bit stuffy. The bathroom was old but clean and the water pressure in the shower was amazing (so I would stay there again). Reception staff very friendly. For the price I would stay again and recommend but not same quality rooms as other Rydges I’ve stayed at
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2018 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the positive feedback. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2018 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for such a positive review! Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recent stay

Posted May 2, 2018
The hotel condition is below par for a Rydges. The rooms and overall facilities need a good upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2018 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate your valuable time. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Unexpected Upgrade

Posted May 1, 2018
I always check photos and read the reviews about a property before booking and paying. This was no exception. On arrival at the hotel, Jim the night staff was very helpful in checking us in and ensuring we had parking and the like. The room was found quite easily but on entering the first thing that hit us was the dank, musty, ammonia smell. I went looking for a window or a fan and was horrified at the state of the shower and air vent in the bathroom. I advised Jim of the state of the room and he instantly upgraded us to another room and advised that the room we had been given had been earmarked for renovations. Why would you allocate a room clearly needing work done? The new room was definitely cleaner but the hotel feels old and dated. Definitely not something I expected from a 4-4.5 star hotel. If Jim wasn't so helpful and quick off the mark the rating would've been lower.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2018 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you with providing your valuable insight for the duration of your stay. We are glad Jim was able to assist with your concerns and tried to make your stay a more comfortable one. We will work hard to address the issues you've come across. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Great hotel with great customer service. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Buffet breakfast was also very good, with a wide variety of food to choose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2018 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your positive feedback - we are pleased that our staff were accommodating and friendly throughout your stay. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet ,clean, everything you need

Posted Apr 28, 2018
Nice quiet time, early check in was arranged and organised, nice room and décor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2018 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good value, great location

Posted Apr 25, 2018
This pleasant hotel offers great facilities in a location surrounded by a variety of eateries. Views of the city were impressive, the bed most comfortable. The pool and garden area was very relaxing. The buffet breakfast is more than adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2018 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the positive feedback - so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Townsville. Kind Regards,