Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El hotel está bien para dormir cerca de Cardiff.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Buen hotel, con agradable estancia. Habitación amplia. Buena ibicación cerca de Cardiff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Three motorcyclists roadtrip

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: As a real ale drinker, I didn't care for the pressurised draft beer. A few bottles of 'better' beer (not in a fridge!) would improve things.
Location: Middle of a housing estate with little nearby. Good as a place to overnight or as a base for day trips out, but nothing nearby.
We are 'mature' bikers and were on a 'mini roadtrip' including taking in the Brecon area. We needed a room with three beds, which the Bessemer could furnish. We didn't have high expectations of an inexpensive hotel in an out of town location, but were pleasurably surprised. The room had one double and two single beds, and an ensuite wet room. The shower was excellent - important after a hot day in the saddle! Sizeable bar, not luxurious but more than adequate. Large dining area, split into sections to cater for large and small groups. Food good, we had carvery; not haut cuisine, but actually very nice. Breakfast was continental.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rustig gelegen, goede uitvalsbasis naar de Breccon

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: De goede bereikbaarheid
Cons: Beschikbaarheid van kamers met enkele bedden verhogen
Location: Goede verbinding met de zuidelijke Breccon bBeacons
Aangenaam verblijf, geen opdringerig personeel, fijn restaurant en goed uitgeruste kamers.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Littlehampton

A few niggles . . . .

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Positive: Rooms was large, nicely decorated and clean - same with bathroom and the hotel as a whole. Staff friendly, Check in quick. Negative: When I booked it said 'Breakfast Included' - it should specify 'Continental Breakfast Included.' A few cereals, yoghurts, toast facility, couple of slices of ham and cheese, and half a sliced melon was the choice. Oddly there were four hard boiled eggs sitting on a rack which were warm to the touch. One of our team took one and not surprisingly it was rock hard inside. A shame that a hotel which has a restaurant for luch and dinner can't employ someone to at least rustle up some scrambled eggs on toast or an omlette. :( In my room, I went to make a cup of tea and one of the milk sachets had turned solid and smelled off. Probably not the hotels fault - but might be worth checking the expiry date on the box! Hotel advertises free wi-fi, but we couldn't fnd a code anywhere so gave up trying. A few niggles for what was otherwise an enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Strange hotel - disappointing stay

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Location, plenty parking, nice and warm
Cons: The beds, definately! Could do with the Hotel Inspector Alex dropping in for the night! Felt more like a B and B but in a hotel setting.
Location: Large town/city, easy route on way to Bristol airport after touring Wales
Wouldn't recommend this hotel. Had the most uncomfortable night ever on awful bed which you could feel the springs! Had to sleep on quilt for extra cushioning. My bedspread also had nail varnish spilt on it. hotel decor seemed 'posh' but service didn't match up to it. Waiting staff need to learn how to serve customers, the main waitress had a dirty blouse, cleaning equip was left around on show, gents were not clean, some areas needed maintenance, poor breakfast-cheap quality foods. The eve carvery was ok. There was no hotel manual in room, had to call reception to ask breakfast times etc
3 out of 5
by Ian from Devizes

Good place to stop over

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
It fits the requirements with no issues
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A tired hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
Creaky floor boards in the room, that were so loud if you moved at all in the room everyone would know. Don't know how the people below slept - very uncomfortable bed which was two box divans that kept separating! The restaurant was nice if a maze of panels all over it! The service buttons by the tables were novel! The carvery was very good and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Israel

Very nice hotel for the price

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
It was great hotel. There is free parking. The room very nice, clean comfortable bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dated, but clean

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Reasonable price. Comedy value of the (unintenational) 1970s vibe
Cons: Could do with bringing up to date and more effort put into the breakfast. Why not get locally sourced lamb sausages? (keep the Babycham though!)
The hotel feels like stepping back into the 1970s. The menu is full of prawn cocktail, melon, and garlic mushrooms, and they serve Babycham at the bar! The decor is dated (although the place is very clean) and the beds weren't the best. When we first arrived in the afternoon the room was very cold, but by bedtime it was very warm - I think they turn the heating off during the day. A fellow guest complained about no hot water for a bath in the afternoon, so maybe they turn off the hot water too. The breakfast wasn't brilliant. Bacon (slightly burnt), sausages (bit rubbery), eggs, beans and tinned tomatoes or toast and cereal and yoghurts. No fresh fruit. No jugs of water. However, the staff were helpful and a fellow guest had scrambled eggs specially made fresh for them and said they were very good. Check in and check out were both super-efficient, and because the price was so reasonable, we can't really complain.
3 out of 5
by Jason from Bridgwater

Good food

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 2 consecutive nights for business.tucked out of the way, good food and friendly staff. Food was very reasonably priced with an impressive carvery. Lack of a gym or local shops though.