Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from In the shadow of Hadrians wall

Second Stay

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly polite staff
Cons: The Menu could be extended perhaps
Location: 2 minutes from the main bus route close enough to be convienient far enough there is no noise
As my daughter has now moved to Merthyr for work I find myself staying there more frequently.This hotel is one of the better ones and is reasonably priced good location quiet and has good food only downside is the wi-fi is a bit iffy depending on the weather but this is the same in most of Merthyr.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Visiting Wales on Vacation.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
This is a very neat and clean hotel. The staff was very professional. The location was convenient as I like to walk, but would consider a hotel in Merthyr Tydfil if I went back to Wales. One recommendation would be to offer fruit and pastry for those not doing the full English breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Poor location and too dark

Posted Jun 10, 2015
The Bessemer Hotel is at best ok for one (only) overnight business stay but seriously let down by bar (small no windows) ,restaurant (small no windows, Dinner and breakfast options very limited) and staff (functional and pedestrian) The whole place looks like it comes under lockdown at dusk Will not be staying again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elko, NV

Decent Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Easy location. Lots of parking.
Cons: tell guests there is more parking in rear.
Location: Cute little town that we jogged around.
Arrived and was greeted by friendly staff. Limited parking in front and it is tight but didnt see all the extra parking in the back until the next morning. didnt have time to eat there so dont know about the food. Room was a little noisy and the floor creaked every time you walked on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Overall the hotel is fine. Bedrooms large clean comfy bed etc. my main gripe with this hotel is the floorboards which are squeaky and they vibrate if people in the next room walk about or use the corridors. Irritating when you're awake watching TV or reading but even worse once you're in bed last thing at night or first thing with business travellers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by william from Cardenden

international darts weekend

Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay. Staffwere friendly and reliable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Near Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains, Rhondda

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Very reasonably priced and comfortable hotel, lovely staff. We stayed for 2 nights whilst we visited Brecon Mountain Railways nearby, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the beautiful Rhondda Valley. The bed was very comfortable, lovely bathroom, TV, tea/coffee making, wifi. Very slight negative comments - could have done with a small table on both sides of the bed (there was only one) to put book or glass of water, and bathroom doors were a bit tricky to open so you had to give them a push - noisy in the middle of the night (Room 211). Lovely and clean throughout and we used the restaurant both nights. It is very popular and busy but we were given excellent service each evening. A real gem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

reasonable

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
my stay was around the time the nato sumit was on, so finding a hotel was hard. the room was reasonable and comfy. breakfast was nice but the dining room seemed strange and very enclosed. my biggest problem was the shower curtain was fitted half way in the bath meaning it sticks to you when wet and not letting you shower very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from london

Hotel in a residential area of Merthyr tydfil

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Location: Merthyr Tydfil is 24 miles from Cardiff and is near the Brecon Beacons with its outstanding area of beauty.Merthyr has a retail park and castle.
Nice hotel in Merthyr Tydfil better than the chain hotels that cost the same price but do not provide breakfast or a restaurant. Lovely old pictures and art work showing the local area in the corridors of the hotel.Cosy bar with locals if you want a favour of Gavin and Stacy you may get it here! decor may be a bit dated for some but adds to the character and is not soul less like some motels room was comfortable quiet and had comfy beds.Cooked breakfast very good.would stay again.