Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bryan from Trowbridge

Lovely but needs a few tweaks to be fantastic

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay here only a couple of things need improving for it to get full marks, they charged us twice for our room even though I told them we had already paid. The room had quite a few cobwebs and there were hand marks on the windows. One day when we returned after being out we found over 20 flies in our room which was very unpleasant. However, the staff were very nice and friendly especially a waitress in the breakfast room who went above and beyond to be helpful. The spa was beautiful and the food was very tasty. The grounds were beautiful and very tranquil.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marissa from New York

Great homebase for exploring SW Wales' beauty

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Although there was a snafu upon my arrival, which was neither of our faults, they kindly accommodated me by relocating me across the street at the Lamphey Hall Hotel (which as also a great cozy place to stay). When I returned I was extremely pleased with the staff, room, area and building itself. My room was much larger than anticipated with a large bathroom, to boot. It is an old manor house set upon a hill, so the view over the wonderfully manicured grounds and countryside beyond were extraordinary. And for some reason I found the sheets amazingly soft, which assisted in a great sleep. Everyone I encountered was courteous and helpful. Finally, the location was perfect with 2 castles nearby to explore and an ideal distance for me between Milford Haven and Swansea.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Conwy

Lovely hotel - Fawlty Towers service

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
A curious mix of a lovely building and room, good food and a quiet area, with Fawlty Towers type service. When I arrived I asked the receptionist a question at which point she turned her back on me and walked away having made no eye contact or indication she had heard me. several minutes later she asked my question to a colleague who also seemed to ignore it. A third person in the reception area then managed to find a way to give me an answer! At breakfast the following day I (along with several fairly disgruntled looking other guests) had to wait over half an hour for breakfast. Some of my fellow guests left without actually receiving their breakfasts and the waitress had done nothing by way of explanation or offered an alternative! When the breakfast arrived it was fine. I asked the same receptionist for an iron and an ironing board before I went into breakfast (07.25) and then again after I came out (08.10) at which point she explained she would be able to get one when housekeeping came in at 10.00. This meant I had to wear either an un-ironed shirt, or my shirt from the previous day. I have stayed here before and had similar service Strangely enough I would go back to this hotel, though not for the service!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karsten

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the hotel but we arrived on a dreadful evening rain and cold. The bedroom was really cold we could have done with having the radiator on. the next day it was put on in our room but the corridor was not heated this resulted in a strange smell damp maybe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Excellent location , fantastic views

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Very relaxing , great pool , staff superb. Breakfast great choice and local produce .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harry from Oxford

Good enough for a re-visit probably

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
A good hotel, let down by only very average service in the restaurant, especially in the evening - the staff were friendly enough but badly organised in the dining room. The food when it came was pretty good. The spa and swimming pool were very good and we used them daily. There was an unfortunate misunderstanding when checking out, as they tried to charge us for accommodation which had already been paid in full via Hotels.com - when challenged they said that they had yet to receive payment from Hotels.com even though we had paid in full by credit card, so .. check your bill carefully!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by frederic from Troyes

Pas à la hauteur de l'offre

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Contrairement à ce que l'on peut découvrir sur le site internet, les chambres familiales sont à l'extérieur du château et exiguës dès le lit d'appoint déplié. Le service de restauration est confus - trop de personnes pour une même table - et la carte peu marquante. L'hôtel mise essentiellement sur l'image du château, magnifique, son spa et sa piscine et l'organisation de mariages, mais délaisse la clientèle individuelle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Short break

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely relaxing weekend despite the rain. Hotel was comfortable and clean and breakfast excellent though breakfast service a bit slow. Thoroughly enjoyed the spa facilities - a lovely location for a family break.