Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location for walking and peace and quiet. Good for the price. Owners very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Martin from Brisbane

Old and dying.

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was locked when we arrived and we had to call to get someone to open and show us to the room which was comfortable enough but the ensuite was rather roughly finished though quite serviceable. Breakfast was very well catered for and generous. Overall it was not good value for the money and we would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Old fashioned B&B in Quiet location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Quiet location; friendly owners
Cons: The bed had a rather thin mattress. Breakfast only had white bread for toast and pre-portioned jam/marmalade.
Location: Walks to the nearby waterfalls. It's not far from the South Wales Coast or Brecon Beacons, but both take a while to reach as local roads are slow.
The Hendrewen Hotel is a B&B and sometime pub (it's only open a few nights a week, but can serve food on some weekday evenings) at the end of a former mining valley. The rooms are clean if a little basic - but the bathroom facilities are fine. There's a little noise transmission between rooms (sticking doors needing slamming), but overall it's a peaceful location, backing onto a wild hillside. Breakfast is traditional with generous portions. There's plenty of free on street parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great nights sleep

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Overall a nice place. Before arriving the hotel contacted us to check on arrival time to make sure someone was present. The hotel itself could do with a bit of freshening up. The room itself (2) was lovely the bed was comfortable and room was very clean. We slept very well as the hotel is tucked away in a lovely quiet road with little to no traffic noise. Breakfast was so so. For one night stopover this hotel fitted the bill probably wouldn't want to stay more than one night. Having said that if I did need to stopover in the area again I would be happy to stay here.
5 out of 5
by Judith from Leamington Spa

lovely base for walking

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal area for walking and photography. There is a bus stop nearby, where one can travel to the railway station or further afield
4 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tony from Southampton, on behalf of Elaine

Traditional, welcoming hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Traditional hotel; staff & owner very welcoming & attentive to your requirements. Breakfast is more than anyone can eat, excellent. Roast dinner very nice to, all home cooked. The room was lovely cosy & very warm the mountian view out of the window was breathtaking. A lovely relaxing location. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok for the world cup.

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel could be a real gem if they just put a little effort in. Margarine was gone off. Main entrance was blocked and locked when we came back. Only way in and out was a fire escape. Not much point having a fire escape if the other entrance is padlocked. Staff were friendly, but bar was closed when we got back. The hotel is at the end of what has to be the lonest village in Europe. We drove through 17km of built up area before reaching
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bof !

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
l’hôtel a besoin d'un rafraîchissement, une forte odeur de friture y règne. Chambre propre mais murs a repeindre de manière urgente. De plus il faut supporter le bruit du néon du couloir avec la lumière passant autour de la porte toute la nuit. Hotel isolé n'oubliez pas votre GPS.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels