Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Clean and tidy and comfy bed! Really good breakfast
Cons: Plug in the bath - to give you a chance to have a bath if desired.
Location: Easy access to centre of town.
Disappointed to find that sash window was down (obviously old building) but that the "double glazing" had come off the runner and there was a big gap in the top left hand window. It was just a good job it was summer!! Unfortunately there was no-one on site to report it to as discovered it after 9pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by General Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, had staff been aware the plug was missing or indeed the issue with window it could have been rectified promptly. You were made aware at check in time that a night manager is on the premises and there was an on call number clearly displayed to be used after 9pm, it was most unfortunate you didn't make use of this service to make your stay more comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy for City centre.

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Nice attitude of staff.
Cons: Some of decoration could be improved.
Location: Near to City centre and bars. Short walk to beach.
Lovely helpful staff. Let us check in early. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by General Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we do have plans in place for refurbishment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

One nigh break

Posted May 14, 2016
Sfaff friendly & polite rooms need a little TLC especially room for forteen and ceiling light fittings need lights removed and lights and fittings need a good clean. A good view on a clear day from room eleven down to Swansea bay breakfast very very nice. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by General Assistant, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, we will address the points you have made.
4 out of 5
by Kelly from The Midlands

2 nights in Swansea

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay. The hotel is very close to the centre which was great for us as we wanted to see the Swansea night life. Didn't have to worry about getting a taxi and for the price was great. The staff were lovely and the room was clean. Brilliant for a budget stay in Swansea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Lucille, Hotel Management
Thank You for your lovely review Kelly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Limited parking

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Nice old building, friendly staff. Clean rooms, adequate breakfast. Needs some TLC and a handyman in general. Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night with no explanation as to why. Parking is very limited if more than six cars and expect abusive residents from flats opposite if you happen to put a wheel on the yellow box by they're garages.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luton

I didn't like it

Posted Apr 20, 2016
The room wasn't clean, the windows are so old... It was cold in room because of old windows. The toilet was broken. I will definitely come back to Swansea but not to this hotel. When I book the holtel I choose to pay in hotel when I arrived. To my surprise I was charged before I get to the hotel...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ravenna

a due passi dal centro

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: posizione, personale gentilissimo,parcheggio
Cons: infissi e mobili da sostituire
Location: vicinissimo al centro e a ristoranti di ogni genere e spesa.
hotel senza dubbio da ristrutturare, ma nel complesso visto il basso costo, accettabile, personale eccezionale, sempre disponibile e gentile nel risolvere problemi personali imprevisti, pulizia impeccabile. lo consiglio sicuramente anche se le 3 stelle sono in realtà solo 2.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Lucille, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by Ana from Brighton

not a very nice hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived very late, way after check in time which I had emailed them and on arrival I had an envelope with hotel info and the room key. That part was great and very helpful. But after that there was no checking in that we had arrived ok, if the room was ok, absolutely nothing. Yes there is parking in the hotel but is very small... We stayed for 4 nights and only once we were able to park in the hotel... otherwise we had to park in the street. Also, first time we walk in the shower and there was a lot of hair stuck in the wall... you know, when you have long hair and put it on the wall to remove it after the shower... but clearly whoever was there before us forgot to put it in the bin. Anyway, I went down to reception and told the girl at the desk that there was a lot of hair in the wall inside the shower which clearly showed that it hadn't been cleaned. She said she would tell the cleaning staff. Later when we arrived back to the hotel, first thing I did was check the shower.... hair was still there. Also, the tea cups that were on the table were dirty inside and the kettle still had water in them... god knows for how long... Yes it's a cheap hotel close to the center and it's probably not too bad if you really just want to sleep there (which was what we did) but if you're aiming for more.... spend a bit more and stay in a proper place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016
I am so very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We do specify the car park is available on a first come first served basis and at busy times does get full. I can only apologise for the cleanliness incident, that is unacceptable and and will be addressed.
3 out of 5
by Diana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by katharine

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Good overal stay