Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

average hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel ok but could do with an uplate. floor craking so it's noisy when walking but plenty of space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Mid Wales.

The hotel was OK.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly, the place was clean and the food was plentiful but not exciting.
Cons: The bedroom floor creaked! Also there were far too many nick nacks e. g. artificial flowers in the public rooms
Location: The location, inside Merthyr Tydfil, was easily accessible from the A470 South Wales to North Wales trunk road. Some signposts pointing towards hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Presently surprised

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
We got upgraded from a twin to family room, which was very nice for the money. I will be using this hotel again. It was much better value for money than Premier Inn and Travelodge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: very good breakfast but that's all I can say about the hotel
Cons: need new beds and the hotel needs to be modernising
4 out of 5
by david from Canvey Island Essex

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I always stay when going to the speedway Grand Prix in Cardiff it is clean and the food is very good can't fault it the bedrooms are very comfortable only 1 thing wrong could do with updating very good for the price would defently stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Rajkumar from Sivakasi - India

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was okay except for the breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best not to try a title.

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
£With the exception of the bedding, WiFi and the room being large the rest left a lot to be desired.To begin with, this hotel does not have a lift and the staircase is quite narrow and difficult for a 75 year old person especially if they have problems with using stairs.I had only one 55cmsx35cmsx40cms suitcase and a computer bag, although the night caretaker was helpful the stairs were still difficult. The coffee table that was like in a number of hotels also used as a desk was too small to do any desk work and the chair was uncomfortable stained and worn out.Though the bathroom was relatively clean with clean towels and hair&shower sachets the shower itself was appalling with no thermostatic mixer, without enough power thereby making it a nightmare because one either scalds oneself or freezes, I was barely able to have a wash leave alone shower, besides there was no hot water at night so I was barely able to brush my teeth cleanse up using the kettle before going to bed; then the decor looked as if it had never been changed since the early 70's.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Needs a refurb.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Low cost.
Cons: The hotel is old and run-down, décor is in need of an upgrade.
Old & dilapidated hotel but room clean enough, if it's just a bed for the night then it represents ok value for money, but don't expect a luxury stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Did the job - wouldn't return

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Location close to town and car parking.
Cons: Clean it and fix things!
Location: Merthyr Tydfil is a town that apparently is undergoing regeneration, although much of it is still run down. Beautiful surroundings and countryside.
Booked this as I couldn't get into the Travelodge next to the leisure centre where we were seeing The Blackout play for the last time. I paid £45 so didn't expect much and so didn't feel it appropriate to complain, however no staff actually asked if everything was ok, so can only assume they weren't fussed anyway! Room was spacious enough and chalet style away from main building & very well heated. Toilet hadn't been cleaned, just had cleaner squirted round it, hand towel dirty (although another was provided), bath plughole seemed to be held in with sealant and shower impossible to use as shower head was too heavy for bracket and so pointed down and flooded the floor. Skirting boards dirty, cobwebs, panels missing from vertical blind and I didn't dare investigate what was going on under the bed sheets or pillow cases as, judging by state of bed-base, I may have been put off sleeping in it! A pity really because it could be a good hotel; it's handy for the town centre, but if the basics of good cleaning and maintenance are neglected it only serves to highlight other lacking areas.