Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berks

Relaxing

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Fab value
Cons: Bedrooms look old fashioned on web site but mine was ok
Location: Good
Good except for a pile of wood rubbish next to car park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly staff - shabby decor upstairs

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Room decor, new mattress and bathroom refresh
Location: Lots of walks nearby clouding local distillery
Good breakfast and friendly staff made up for knackered mattress and tired bathroom. Bar area and restaurant very clean and modern. Could do with the same attention in the bedrooms. Good location with walks nearby. Would stay again if my back could take the bed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Margate

Great location, lovely place.

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Even though about 8 miles from Brecon, the hotel is a short distance from the Penderyn Whiskey Distillery (walking distance) and a short drive to a walk containing many waterfalls. Pen y Fan (the highest point of the Beacons) is a short drive also. Hotel was very spacious and comfy, food great, staff pleasant et cetera. Very rarely do we stay in the same place but if we go to South Wales again, this will be our first choice. Fabulous :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good overall

Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms and corridors rather tired and dusty, but excellent food, and pleasant staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant location and staff. A little far out from other restaurants etc. breakfast was excellent, value was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dominic

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Bar/ restaurant excellent, room decor a bit tired

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Restaurant is exceptional, staff are very friendly and eager to help!
Cons: Update the bathroom- the decor was tired and old plumbing for the toilet made a hell of a noise when flushed!
Location: It's a great one for walking as long as you have a car-very close to waterfall country but a lot of routes are via dual-carriageway so not for walking
I was in a standard double room so this may not apply to the entirety of the rooms available! The room itself was exceptionally clean and comfortable with brilliant amenities. The decor was a little tired- old furniture and the bathroom could definitely do with updating, so possibly avoid if you're on a romantic break. The reception staff were incredibly helpful and the restaurant and bar are high quality and comfortable. I would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely restaurant

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely staff and excellent restaurant. The only issue was my bathroom looked like it could do with modernising. It had one of those hair dryers from circa 1975 and the bath itself also looked like it was last replaced about 40 years ago and I didn't feel comfortable using it. The shower curtain had mould on it. It may have just been my room however and I am sure if I said I wasn't happy I would have been able to change rooms.