Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Loads of hot water never ran out.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Great for Mid Wales and the Brecon Beacons.
Yes, the rooms are a little tired and the grouting around some of the bathroom tiles is not pristine but this hotel is great after days out walking Pen Y Fan and waterfalls. Only drawback for us was only two vegetarian choices ( for evening meals) on the menu, one on the set menu and one on the a la carte menu. These did not change over the three days we were there. so no real choice for vegetarians. Also one of those choices had cheese so even less good if you are vegan. When we asked the friendly and helpful waitress if they could do anything else, the reply was "We can do it without the cheese," great but the dish was basically pasta with blue cheese. We didn't fancy just a plate of pasta.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Business trip so didn't view area - hotel staff very welcoming - restaurant looked nice - I had continental breakfast so cannot comment on food. For price was good value. Would recommend new pillows
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very impressed with the hotel, friendly staff good quality food and lovely location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Rooms and facilities need a revamp

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Made to change rooms after first night of a three night stay. Confusion where to put us as there was a wedding on their and would be noise, I had a endurance race the next morning early and a baby to consider. They move our bags and left the room unlocked all day. Staff smoking area outside our window. Rooms were dirty and need painting. Mould around bath. Tv and wifi signal not working. Manager tried to blame staff then oils not reply to my email. On the plus the restaurant was nice and staff were friendly it no where near worth the money I paid.
4 out of 5
by William from Shropshire

One Night in Wales

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Perfectly satisfactory and very good value.
3 out of 5
by James from Teeside

Nice grounds, bad beds and staff.

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The mattress was terrible so had a very uncomfortable sleepless night and seeing as we had a 6hr drive home early wasn't good. Rang the day before to ask if we could check in early at 2.30pm as we had a wedding reception at 3pm which was a sit down meal (normal check in is 3pm) an was told we could. We arrived and told we couldn't check in till 3pm mentioned that I rang the day before and was told ok, was taken to the room and the room/bedding and bathroom hadn't been cleaned but told it would be done by the time we came back. On the morning of check out went to reception to check out and the female staff member was quite rude, never asked if we had a good night stay or if the room was ok, nothing! All I got was room number!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Disappointed

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Hotel room was dated, restaurant was nice and modern but food was expensive for what is was (even the set menu) and not very good quality. Breakfast good. Peaceful location.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Great one night stay

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great one night stay here, food was ok, a little limited also did not had run out of 3 dishes and for a Friday night @8pm found this to be disapointing . We had the long medow suite... Which is stunning.. With a comfortable four poster bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good base, close to Brecon Beacons.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Has all the basics well-covered - clean rooms, friendly staff, decent breakfast etc. Enjoyable place to base yourself to explore the surrounding area, some outstanding walks in the Brecon Beacons National Park nearby (car needed).