Ratings based on 1,440 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well worth the stay.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Hotel seemed quite professional and checking in and out was easy. Very glad that they could hold our luggage until we needed it.
Cons: My main concern was the privacy in the bathroom which did not have a locking door and gaps wide enough for any person in the room seeing into.
Really enjoyed our stay here. Room was just what we expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Great city hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Hotel reception staff very helpful. Allowed us to view a couple of rooms before choosing one. Room amenities excellent. Made breakfast each day.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was handy for us visiting our two daughters. Equi distance from both in opposite directions. Close to city. Tram stop on doorstep.
Great location for visit to Melbourne. Chapel Street has abundance of cafés, restaurants and individual stores. Prahran market close by. Hotel beautifully decorated with art works. Room exceptionally comfortable, spacious, clean. Pool and sunbathing area very inviting but didn't utilise. Restaurant good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tidy and classy

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Very comfortable, great location - close to south Yarra train station and chapel st shops. Staff friendly and helpful, convenient parking onsite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Beautiful art works within the hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: the artworks by John Olsen were a highlight
Cons: The staff were cold and unfriendly
Location: Local shops and restaurants were good. Short cab ride to city under $20.
I chose this hotel for the art and the art did not disappoint. The view however from my balcony was terrible and the room much smaller than expected. The staff were a bit pompous and not very interested in us at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NT

Top boutique hotel in the heart if South Yarra

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Best location . Best check in staff and manager. All good all great. Top value for money. Overall great experience tarnished by one female staff member at the restaurant on saturday morning who had a bad towards me attitude and also I wasnt told that the breaky was included so I paid. Luckily A grade check out staff and experienced manager fixed the issue and damaged controled my experience. Yes I would go back cause Its a great place and great check in staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice Staff but doesn't feel like a 5 star hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Nice clean rooms, comfy bed
Location: Great spot if you for cafes and resturants
When we recently visited Melbourne we decide to stay at the Olsen for three nights as it had some good reviews and we wanted to explore staying in South Yarra instead of the city. Unfortunately nothing quite worked as it was meant to. When we arrived the staff were very nice but seemed to be more like a little family business instead of a well run hotel. We were travelling with our 5 year old son and per their advertising had booked a roll away bed which was not in our room when we arrived. Unfortunately when we requested it was brought up it didn't fit into the room and we had to remove furniture to squeeze it in. The room itself looked onto a viewing deck which meant that we needed to keep our curtains closed at all time as we had people standing right on the other side of the glass to our room and for some reason the hotel had no hot water for the first day of our trip which was tough after diving five hours to get there from a ski trip. We did not try the room service however the people in the room next to us left a tray of un eaten food outside there door with note saying " this is absolute rubbish - we can not eat it " and for some reason it sat there all day for everyone to read. All in all I think the room itself was quite nice and modern and the staff were defiantly trying very hard but it defiantly did not feel like a 5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Great hotel close to shops on Chapel street

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Great location and facilities Lots of great art being an Art Hotel.
Location: Just outside the door, cafes, restaurants, markets and park close by.
Hotel is in a great location on Chapel street, was quiet during the weekend but should imagine during the week could be noisy with building works happening close by at present. Staff were very pleasant both in reception and in the restaurant/bar. Room was wonderful being on the northside of the building, good view from the 9th floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful service and a great atmosphere

Posted May 22, 2017
From the moment of check-in the staff w eg out of their way to help me. The service is truly outstanding and very warm and personable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced and under sized.

Posted May 21, 2017 on Lastminute
Room was very small with no outlook. Would expect better for the price. Also got charged for mini bar expenses on top of the bond I had already paid, plus I had over paid them $60 so would have thought any expenses would just be deducted from what they owe me. That's not how it works though apparently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location, quietness
The 2 bedroom apartment with shower facility was spacious and comfortable for 3 adults. We experienced a rattle (on and off) in the AC unit above main bedroom and reported it to the reception area on departure.