Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Nice place to stay for backpackers. Good location to town. With complimentary free breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location for getting around. Friendly staff

Posted Nov 29, 2017
It was very hot weather. Air conditioned rooms would have made it even better than it was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Great location between train station and Chapel st and close to the yarra river. Front desk staff were excellent. Pillow was very comfy too. No problems with my shared room at all. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The hotel is in a great location close to everything however you hear everything and the hotel is super old and not in a good way. I don't know how it was given a 3 star it's a 2 at best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

good value

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: the staff
Cons: no
Location: south yarra is a great location with good restaurants in Toorak Rd and easy to get to the MCG
only booked because my hotel where I usually stay in south yarra was way too expensive for grand final weekend. was pleasantly surprised with the guest house great value for money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Pacific area

Clean comfortable

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Lastminute
Mostly very positive. Clean, comfortable, nice breakfast. Unfortunately no hot water when I went to have a shower. The kitchen is closed for use until 11am. It would be good if their notice specified 11am This meant I couldn't make any sandwiches etc to take for lunch so anything like needs to be done the night prior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ballarat

Old World Grandeur, Down to Earth Prices

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Lastminute
The building on Toorak Rd is unrenovated period delight of the victorian era. I stayed on a saturday night for forty something dollars. the room was spotless, the bunk very comfortable. Bathrooms functional and clean. Breakfast the next morning was free. But best if all, it was a quiet nights sleep. No noisy doof doof music or drunken teenagers. At last, a backpackers fir the over thirties!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

Terrific Accommodation in Fantastic Location!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: see experience
Cons: nothing
Location: see experience
This hotel was a really great find!! I will now stay there every time I visit Melbourne. Clean, comfortable room with very high ceiling in charming old building. Bathrooms very clean and bright and spacious. Hotel staff very friendly and obliging. Free breakfast a great way to fill up before an outing. And the location of the hotel is perfect - train station 2mins away for one stop to Richmond (for MCG/AAMI/Hi-Sense/Rod Laver sports events0 and just two stops to Flinders St to be in the heart of the city. also a 78 tram nearby to head north to Richmond/Abbotsford or south to Prahran/St Kilda. Plenty of take-away food across the road from the hotel + a supermarket with bottle-shop. I cannot recommend staying at this hotel for a 2-3 nights short Melbourne holiday enough!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel to stay near City

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Breakfast ,free Wi-Fi. It's nice if someone wants to stay here in $45/day
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Quiet and clean
Cons: Lockers, more food options
Location: Convenient location
I stayed in a 6-bed dorm with one other person. The house was well presented and quiet. Bathrooms were shared but kept clean. There were no wardrobes in the room, nor lockers were you could leave valuables. Breakfast was unimpressive.