Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous little gem in the heart of South Yarra.

Posted Apr 20, 2018
I have stayed in this little hidden gem in South Yarra and each time just gets better and better. Very lovely apartment style rooms with a fantastic location close to all amenities and restaurants. Do yourself a favor and stay here next time you visit South Yarra.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2018 by Rowina T, Hotel Management
Dear Catherine, Thank you for this great review on Expedia. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warmest wishes, Rowina T Hotelier
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in South Yarra

Posted Mar 16, 2018
We’ve stayed here a few times and slways enjoy it. Great part of melbourne, quiet street, and great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2018 by Rowina T, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lyall. It is so nice to read that you enjoy staying with us and enjoy the service of the staff and the quiet yet convenient location of the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay at the The Lyall and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Wishes, Rowina T
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2018
Excellent will stay here again.....some great cafes within a 5 min walk,
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2018 by Rowina T, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you mentioned we have some great cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance and the Toorak Road South Yarra area has some wonderful shops for which we provide an Exclusive Shopping Privilege Card. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall. Warmest wishes, Rowina T
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Beautiful hidden gem

Posted Mar 13, 2018
Absolutely stunning little boutique hotel in the heart of South Yarra. Gorgeous apartment with fantastic amenities and stylish decor. Close to great shopping and food options. Can’t wait to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2018 by Rowina T, Hotel Management
Dear Catherine, Thank you for your great review, we love hearing from our happy guests and look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall. Warmest wishes, Rowina T
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Murphy street Lyall hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2018 on Hotels
Building works next door are invasive for the single bedroom suites fortunately we were upgraded to other side of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Rowina T, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for your positive review and I'm glad that we were able to upgrade you to the south side. The construction is on the north side of the hotel and only affects our one bedroom suites. The construction is due for completion at the end of June this year and will certainly improve once the scaffolding is removed in the next 6 weeks. The disturbance varies each day with some days being fine. Guests who are not in their rooms during the day are not affected at all. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back to The Lyall in the near future. With kind regards, Rowina T Hotelier
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Rowina T, Hotel Management
Dear Lapo, Thank you for your generous review. We really appreciate your feedback. With kind regards, Rowina T
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Disappointing stay due to works next door

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Unfortunately I was unaware of the large construction going on next door to the hotel. On the mobile Expedia site there was no mention of it. I was heartbroken when I walked into my room that sat on top of the building site. I was unable to spend anytime in my room and was woken at 6.45 am when they started work. On a positive note, the staff at the hotel are lovely, helpful and polite. The front desk manager however was not interested in my complaints / he probably has them daily. I believe that there is a lot they could do to make up for the building as it is beyond their control. It would be best if they reduced their rates or offfered war playground or even a glass of wine or a coffee. I was offered a discount should I return which unfortunately I will not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Rowina T, Hotel Management
Dear Dani, I am so sorry that you were disappointed. The construction is our own development which gives us a little more control over what happens but still we are due to finish end of June so I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back after July. I was surprised to read your comment about the manager as we are certainly accommodating special requests where we can. Once again, my sincere apologies for your experience. Rowina T Hotelier
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2018
Dirty, broken, and uncomfortable. The evening desk staff were great, the others, not so much. Overall, not enough staffing, not enough attention to detail. Could be a great hotel, sadly its not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Rowina, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your comments of your recent stay. We take all feedback very seriously and have shared this information with the relevant departments. If broken is referring to the glitch in wifi we've just incurred, all has been resolved and parts replaced as needed. Thank you for your compliments on the evening staff. Best wishes, Rowina Thomas Hotelier
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Tired room .Noisy room. Internet not operating

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Compensation and to see some lease hold improvements Bedding Curtains and the room in general was tired.
Cons: See above
Location: Near transport and resturants
When we checked in we asked for a quite room .Major construction was being carried out on one side of the hotel. At check in we were told the best room was a studio at the back of the hotel. The studio room was not quiet.We later found there were quieter rooms on the Southern side of the hotel. We have stayed at this property before and have never been in such a small room We found the internet was not functioning. This was not resolved. Front desk staff were not sympathetic-no compensation was offered
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Rowina, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your feedback it is most appreciated. Without knowing your exact details and what you booked, I can't elaborate I'm sorry. The Lyall is known to have the biggest rooms (suites) in Melbourne however we do have 5 studio rooms which are basically hotel rooms, I think you must have had one of these. Did our staff offer for you to change to a quieter room on the south side? If you were staying at the hotel over the Australian Open, it may have been difficult to change your room as we were fully booked for most of the tournament. We do our best to reallocate people to the quiet side while the construction is happening on the north side. The internet is now fixed, we were unfortunately in the hands of our providers who were unable to get the parts required as quickly as we needed them in January. We did provide dongles to those who asked. I do apologise for this inconvenience. If we didn't offer you anything during your stay, we will certainly look after you on your next stay if you decide to give us the opportunity. The construction will be finished by June July 2018 but should you wish to stay prior to that we will ensure that you are allocated on the south side of the hotel. With kind regards, Rowina Thomas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from country Victoria

Lovely room

Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Wotif
A lovely room. Very comfortable bed. Suite like style of the room is very pleasant. The champagne bar is lovely The hotel is close to Toorak Road with lovely places to eat. The Hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly.