Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lyall hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Great hotel close to restaurants and shopping Small but cosy
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Hotelier, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank your for positing a comment. I'm so glad you enjoyed the hotel, it's size and location. Warmest wishes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major security failure, hotel is unsafe, do not st

Posted May 27, 2017
Woke in the middle of the night to see an unknown man in my bathroom. A faulty lock enabled this man to enter my bedroom. Hotel staff and owner did not take this seriously. Owner said "it was one of those things!" Do not stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lowburn NZ

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted May 26, 2017
Location: Great local shopping and coffee
Stayed here for three nights and was pleasantly surprised. Delightful boutique hotel in the heart of South Yarra. Excellent service, quiet and peaceful well appointed generous sized rooms. Will definitely be back when visiting Melbourne
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel, close to shops and restaurants

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Comfy bed, great location.
Cons: The design of the room was a little odd-the sitting/kitchen area felt a little cramped.
Location: Restaurants, shops, Chapel St, train station, cafes, bottle shop, supermarket and delicatessen all very close by. Plenty of parking.
Really lovely hotel, clean rooms, comfortable beds, great mini-bar selection with cheese and biscuits etc. There was building works going on next door but it was a public holiday so not too noisy. Really good location being close to restaurants and shopping precinct.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great place to unwind and relax

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Wotif
My Fiancee and I booked the Lyall to celebrate our recent engagement, and were astonished at how the staff went out of their way to make our stay special. Stefano at the front desk, and the ladies in the spa, were especially amazing and made our trip so memorable. The only reason I am not putting a full 5 star rating for facilities is that there was some construction next door that caused some sound and parking issues, though this was outside the hotel's control.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Renovation going on.

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Staff, rooms, location.
Staff fabulous, rooms very nice and spacious. Right next door was jack hammering, digging and so on so the noise is dreadful. Lots of construction vehicles out front and around too. Once this apartment building is finished no problem returning but until then absolutely not. Hotel were accommodating though for the dreadful noise. Staff made the stay, very friendly and a delight to deal with. Great location for the South Yarra shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good area

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Walkability is very good. Lots of stores and restaurants. Also 15 minute walk to botanical gardens which are amazing.
4 out of 5
by KIN

A Warm Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent personnel and warm services. The location is great with easy access to shopping high streets and public transport, and Royal Botanic Garden. The valet parking of hotel is the only solution in South Yarra dining and shopping area. The gym is small but apparently under-utilised. There was construction works next door, which was the only negative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Nice hotel in South Yarra

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Good location, prompt and friendly service.
Cons: Inform all guests when booking there is a on-going construction right next door.
Location: Plenty of thing to do in Chapel Street. Train station nearby and tram to city is just down the road.
Given a room next to the construction site when we checked in. Luckily it was Friday and the site only work half day on Saturday. They manager said the place is fully booked and could only give us a room in the other side of the hotel Sunday. There was some confusion regarding the room when we came back on Sunday but the manager manage to sort it out. Our stay there was pleasant and other than the on-going construction next door it is a very good hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Wotif
Nice enough for the price. It just felt like they were only after money.