Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 minute walk to train best feature

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: 5 minutes walk to station
Very historic place with nice looking sitting room. Nice looking building; garden tidy but fading. Staff could not speak English very well and the young people were in very casual clothes and not professionally presented. The 'information for guests' was a list of rules. The wall of my room was paper-thin; I could hear conversation, snoring etc. in next room. Anyone with mobility problems would find this place difficult. Best thing is an easy 5 minute walk to the station with direct access to the CBD.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth wa

Poor communication

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Good location. Close to railway. Hawksburn is a pleasant area
Cons: Communication and staff on duty longer
Location: Nice cafes, restaurants and shops. Good rail link to Melbourne
Time of checking in changed. To gain entrance you had to phone for code which was then sent to mobile. We had no mobile phone. Lucky for us other guests arrived at the same time otherwise we would have had to find accommodation elsewhere. When we arrived home there was email to say checking in time had changed, but this was sent on the day we left and we left very early in the morning. Also entry code was on our land line answering machine. Second day no hot water in the morning. When staff was told they just said "yes plumber is here". No staff on duty overnight, Fire equipment in foyer but no instructions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Qld, Australia

Not a tick from me this time

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Proximity to train station. Great hair dryer. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Modernisation on the whole interior which CAN be done with authenticity. The creepy photos of people in the bedroom is enough to give nightmares.
Location: Right next to train line, however the trains are quiet, or I was too exhausted to notice until I woke up. Only 10 minute walk to shops at a good pace.
The Manor was perfect as it was next to train station and I had to rely on public transport during my stay. The reception staff were great to respond to my emails promptly, however were not to be seen when I arrived and the room key was not left where I was instructed to collect it. The Manor is very dated, eerie and cold and reminded me of the places that Gordon Ramsay visits on his show 'Hotels from Hell', and does makeovers on. I think the pillow stuffing had got up and left the building, as it was flat as a tack. If you like vintage, this place is ideal. I was horrified when I went to use the hairdryer (which worked great) however was sitting in a pool of water in the cupboard under the hand basin. It was upsetting to have the housekeeper knock on my door at 2 minutes past 10am (and I still had the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on door) to be told I should already check out. Although the hotel was not what I expected, it ultimately was a place to rest my head during my short stay, and that was the service I got and paid for. I understand the area is old, however I am also very aware that you can modernise interiors of old buildings and update the decor a bit so it is less spooky and more appealing. A bit of heating in winter would have gone down well as well. Apart from the fact this is the suburb I needed to be in, I would not stay again unless necessary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location,........ a tired old lady

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location, and large room
Cons: Customer service for guests from reception, cleanliness and maybe a revamp in keeping with the era
Location: great train service to the city
Hotel in great location, received key, no suggestion of the breakfast, not much communication or welcome at all. The room was lovely and large, however the doona cover had seen better days, quite pilled and not up to standard, the sheets seemed good quality and clean, comfortable bed. The bathroom had black mould in the grout in the shower, which was a bit of a put off !! Everything seemed a little tired, what a shame as it could be wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsham

good location, good room

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Wotif
also a pleasure to stay at the Manor. Would recommend to friends or relatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy hotel close to transport to the city.

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Wotif
Very comfortable. We were upgraded to a better roomfelt spoilt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

odour of carpets that need cleaning

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: proximity to where I wanted to be
Cons: clean the carpets
Location: very central, near train station
polite staff and clean eating area, but you left the back door open for me to freeze!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world hotel close to toookak rd by car

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Boutique hotel
Cons: No
Location: Close to toorak
Friendly casual bu outique hotel in tookak near toorak red Room with ensuite bathroom and closet Small lounge room and bfast room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toorak

Close to the train line. Noisy

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Attention to detail
Location: Close to a pub.
Noisy room, would have appreciated some biscuits and green tea in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable, quiet, great location

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Size of the room and comfort and reasonable price for a convenient overnight stay
Very happy with the price, location, very quiet, lovely big room