Ratings based on 944 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxon

Good location for attending a match at Sheffield U

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast
Cons: Cheaper drinks! Real ale pump.
Location: excellent for what I required
All ok except the ceiling room lights weren't working. I wasn't in the room much so it didn't cause too many issues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice clean and modern hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Breakfast great too.
Location: It's about 15 minutes walk into town, so the hotel is better suited to people arriving by car, rather than by train.
No complaints whatsoever about the Copthorne. It's clean, friendly and the rooms are large and modern.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fylde

Ideal location for our visit to Sheffield.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The standard of the bedroom and public areas
Cons: Lighting in the bathroom - like most modern hotels the lighting is poor for a manual shaver
Location: I would prefer a location not attached to a football club but nonetheless no problem out of season
Unfortunately only a 1 day stay so we did not have the full benefit of staying at this very good hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barnsley

Disappointing

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The breakfast and the breakfast staff were excellent. Duty manager was also quick to sort out my morning paper which ha not been sorted on arrival
Cons: Happier and more attentive bar staff. Sorting out cleanliness and tidniness in rooms. Reception/bar staff knowing what to ask club room customers
Location: Nothing to do right by the hotel (unless there is a football match on) but plenty within walking distance
Our club room had a large red mark on the carpet and paint had come off the ceiling. Also the curtains were ripped. Reception forgot to ask some questions of us, and as a new customer we didn't realise this until later. Our room was a nice size but I didn't like the fact that the double bed was two pushed together, that had a large ridge in the middle. We decided to use our complimentary drink vouchers in the bar, but were met with some apathy and little warmth. I had to ask what was on offer rather than having it explained to me, and also nothing was mentioned about bar snacks, which I later found out we should have been offered but weren't. We may have stayed longer in the bar if it had been more inviting, as it was we decided to go back to our room and have our complimentary cola instead. The following morning the internet access we were supposed to have kept breaking down as did the TV signal as the TV is internet controlled apparently. This was an intermittent fault for around two hours. Overall I would say I've stayed in cheaper rooms with more engaging staff and more aesthetically pleasing as it was let down by the above mentioned blemishes. It mat not sound much but its small issues like this that show that standards aren't being maintained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

In Sheffield for a family wedding.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Parking was in front of the hotel so very convenient, not always possible in a city hotel.
Location: Good situation for the town centre and all areas of Sheffield. We went into Derbyshire and visited some gardens.
We had a 2 night stay in a lovely room on the 6th floor. Larger than usual with a good vista of Sheffield and all the old areas we new up to the area of Fulwood. Nice to have the soft drinks available in the booking and the voucher for the bar and nibbles later. Very comfortable bed and well supplied bathroom, lovely soft towels. Had the full breakfast both mornings with the fresh fruit once again included in the deal. Good situation for the centre and getting to Meadow Hall. Enjoyed it very much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Comfortable and clean hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Nice hotel. Clean and comfortable room. WiFi dropped out every hour and had to be reset which was quite annoying but other than that it was a good stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Stay

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Room, front desk staff, parking space.
Cons: Internet connection was going down every so often. The room doors do make a lot of noise/banging, if you let the door close by itself.
Location: Restaurants
Very happy with the stay. The room was great. Facilities great within the hotel. The staff (front desk and restaurant) were phenominal. Very helpful and pleasant.Lots of parking space. The beds were very soft, and nice to sleep in. Enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - just a bit far away from city centre

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: nice rooms
Great stay - friendly staff - I would go there again
4 out of 5
by Sergey from Stockholm, Sweden

Good but not more

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
OK hotel with everything as it should be but not more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Very good location.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
We have stopped at the Copthorne on a few occasions and it has always been excellent.staff are very professional and friendly.Beautiful hotel.we will certainly use this hotel on our next trip to Sheffield.