Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon

Stayed in better for less

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Excellent friendly staff and awesome breakfast
Cons: Music in the bar, smarten up the rooms they are a little drab
Location: About 4.2 mile from Barnsley town centre easy to find and the nearest rail station is Dodworth or Barnsley Interchange its £5.60 by cab or bus £2
This hotel looks amazing from the pictures on the website, it promised Spa and swimming pool these are actually in the building next door which they have an arrangement with Bannatynes Gym it isn't (On site) but just a couple of minutes walk, also the hotel promised bathrobes, I didn't see any in my room, all I saw was a very blocked toilet, rooms are a little tired, there is a grand piano in the lobby with a sign on it asking you not to play it, it has a large bar (which closes at midnight but last orders are called at 23:20) and could do with some ambient music rather than playing old episodes of The sweeney!! The Breakfast was amazing buffet style and nice and clean it has a 5 star rating for food here. The staff were excellent and true Yorkshire hospitally on tap, made very welcome. There are no smoking rooms available so the website should mention this, but doesn't, its quite a way from Barnsley town centre its £5.60 in a cab or buses 20,21,22 will get you to town every 15 mins. I took my boyfriend there and we had a comfortable and emjoyable stay despite the blocked toilet. We probably wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merseyside

Excellent accommodation

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Excellent food Excellent room comfy bed, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by James

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
We came up as we were visiting family in Barnsley and had a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn. We had a few drinks in the bar before setting off, just a small thing but it was slightly annoying that we couldn't run a tab but had to sign for every drink. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was very nice, overall it was a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Well catered for business trip.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Convenient location for my business trip
Comfortable clean room with friendly staff and good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

If you need to go to. Barnsley could not do Better

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Right from the booking in !! Rooms, Breakfast, to leaving all was pleasant!
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: We were going to a party nearby so didn't go anywhere else at night but had a lovely walk around after breakfast next day
Loved our stay at the Hoilday Inn !! All what they say in the brochure, what more can you ask !!
3 out of 5
by Bill

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel fine for business stay. Room service food was disappointing quality and 1/3 of plate was taken up with unseasoned garnish
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable Stay

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Location, close to village of Dodworth. Use of gym next to hotel.
Cons: Needs to be updated
Location: Close to M1, easy access to Leeds, Sheffield. Wentworth Estate, hiking, Worsborough Mill, Barnsley town centre..
Staff were helpful, always at hand. Breakfast was excellent, restaurant staff very friendly. Room was large, décor was dated, cleaned daily, bathroom large, lots of towels / soap available. There were areas of the bathroom which were not cleaned for some time.. floor was sticky as if layers of cleaning liquids were not washed off. I would have liked a safe in the room and a small fridge would have been helpful. I would definitely stay again...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Decent hotel close to M1

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Good value for bed and breakfast. Good room size. Comfortable and clean. Free use of good adjacent pool and sauna facilities
Cons: Dining area could be a bit more comfortable and maybe partitioned off to improve privacy
Location: Surprisingly nice country area between Barnsley and Sheffield with many options for walking and cycling.
Stayed one night to attend wedding reception at nearby venue.
3 out of 5
by Amit

Nice hotel with bed WiFi - not for business travel

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
A nice hotel with a very bed wifi connection - bed for business travelers!!!
3 out of 5
by Sheila from Birmingham u.k

Not a ratable 5 star hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
The noise from next door was very loud because the inter connecting door was not properly sound insulated . There were lot of noise in the corridor after 11 p.m..No notices were put up to maintain silence for other tired guests. The bar was very slow as there was only one girl serving and a young man clearing. We cannot recommend this hotel to any one apart from the fact that the gym was next door and the hotel did not deserve more than a three star rating